Skip to content

The Best Electric Meat Grinder Spec Is #8, Not 3200 Watts

Heavy duty size 12 electric meat grinder beside a compact size 5 home meat grinder

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This does not affect the price you pay.

One machine on this page advertises 3200 watts. Its own specification says the motor is rated at 300 watts.

Another advertises no wattage at all, gives its motor as half a horsepower — roughly 373 watts — and grinds seven pounds a minute, the fastest here.

Both statements are true, and one listing explains why. STX writes it out: “a Locked Motor Wattage of 3000 Watts but it Normally Uses between 800 Watts & 1200 Watts Under Load”. Locked-rotor wattage is the current a motor draws in the instant it stalls and cannot turn. It is a fault condition lasting a fraction of a second, and it is the number printed on the front of almost every box in this category.

Six of these ten lead with a ‘Max’ or ‘Peak’ figure. Two of those six never publish a rated power at all. Four never publish a grinder size.

The specification that actually describes a meat grinder is the old trade size — #5, #8, #12 — which names the bore of the grinding head and therefore the plates, the auger and the class of machine. Four listings here publish it. The rest sell you watts.

$44.99 to $419.99 below, and the two ends of that range are the two most honest listings on the page.

Our Quick Picks

STX Turboforce 3000 Size #12 electric meat grinderBest OverallSTX Turboforce 3000 Size #12

A size #12 grinder that publishes both figures: 3000 watts locked, and 800 to 1200 watts actually drawn while grinding.

View on Amazon

CHEFFANO Life 2000W Max electric meat grinderBest ValueCHEFFANO Life 2000W Max

Five hundred watts of actual rated power — the highest of any budget machine here — behind the smallest headline number.

View on Amazon

LEM BigBite #8 electric meat grinderBest BuiltLEM BigBite #8

Half a horsepower, seven pounds a minute, stainless steel construction and a five-year warranty — with no peak wattage anywhere in the listing.

View on Amazon

At a Glance

Ten Grinders, With the Real Numbers Beside the Advertised Ones

Trade size, rated power, the headline figure the box leads with, and throughput where any is published. Read the second and fourth columns.

# Model Size Rated Power Headline Figure Throughput Standout Main Drawback Check Price
1
STX Turboforce 3000 Size #12 electric meat grinderSTX Turboforce 3000 Size #12
#12 800–1200W under load 3000W locked 3 lb hopper The only listing here that explains what its own headline number means It will not grind bones, and the listing says so in capitals View on Amazon
2
CHEFFANO Life 2000W Max electric meat grinderCHEFFANO Life 2000W Max
#5 500W rated 2000W max Not stated The best ratio here — 500W rated against a 2000W headline #5 is the smallest grinder class on this page View on Amazon
3
LEM BigBite #8 electric meat grinderLEM BigBite #8
#8 0.5 HP No watt claim 7 lb/min Publishes horsepower and throughput instead of a peak wattage $419.99 — more than twice anything else here View on Amazon
4
Weston #12 Electric Grinder electric meat grinderWeston #12 Electric Grinder
#12 750W, 1 HP No peak claim 4–5 lb/min The only listing giving watts and horsepower that agree with each other $213.45, and no throughput advantage over the $179.75 STX View on Amazon
5
Aiheal 3200W Max electric meat grinderAiheal 3200W Max
Not stated 300W rated 3200W max Not stated Rank #6,308 — the most bought grinder on this page A 3200W headline over a 300W motor, the widest gap here View on Amazon
6
AAOBOSI 3-Speed Touch Screen electric meat grinderAAOBOSI 3-Speed Touch Screen
Not stated 350W rated 3000W max 4 lb/min A touch screen with named modes rather than a single switch Grinder size is not published anywhere View on Amazon
7
Kourice 2800W Peak Metal Body electric meat grinderKourice 2800W Peak Metal Body
Not stated Not published 2800W peak 5.5 lb/min An all-metal body, blades and plates at $123.98 5.5 lb/min claimed with no rated power published at all View on Amazon
8
CHEFFANO 2800W Max ETL electric meat grinderCHEFFANO 2800W Max ETL
#5 350W rated 2800W max 3 lb/min ETL safety certification, which most machines here lack A three-layer auger claim that is hard to verify View on Amazon
9
Altra Life 2300W Max electric meat grinderAltra Life 2300W Max
#5 350W rated 2300W max 3 lb/min Overload and overheat protection with an automatic cut-out BPA-free is the strongest material claim it makes View on Amazon
10
Oaomi 3200W Max electric meat grinderOaomi 3200W Max
Not stated Not published 3200W max Not stated Some parts genuinely are dishwasher safe, which is rare here Neither rated power, size nor throughput is published View on Amazon

Powers, sizes, throughputs and prices are taken from each manufacturer’s Amazon listing as displayed on 24 August 2026 through a United States connection, and may change. “Max” and “Peak” wattages are locked-rotor figures — the current drawn at the instant a motor stalls — and are not running power; one listing on this page states this explicitly and we have taken its wording as the reference. Two listings publish no rated power at all and four publish no grinder size; these absences are marked as such in the table rather than estimated. Throughput figures are manufacturer claims and we have not tested them; note that one machine claims 5.5 lb per minute while publishing no motor rating, and that the highest claimed throughput on this page comes from the lowest published power figure. Horsepower and watt figures are not directly comparable, since one measures output and the other input. Sales ranks are shown as displayed and can be pooled across a variant family.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column

How We Chose These Ten

We researched current listings, compared manufacturer specifications and documentation, and examined recurring patterns in customer feedback. We did not carry out hands-on testing, and nothing below is presented as measured performance data.

  • Rated power recorded separately from the headline figure — they differ by up to a factor of eleven on this page
  • Trade size recorded where published, and its absence marked — #5, #8 and #12 describe the machine; watts do not
  • Throughput noted where claimed — and set against the motor figure that is supposed to produce it
  • A verified live buy box — all ten confirmed purchasable in the United States on 24 August 2026
  • Budget and serious machines both represented — $44.99 to $419.99, because the use cases are genuinely different
  • Safety certification noted where present — two carry ETL and the rest publish nothing
  • No overlap with our published kitchen appliance guides — every grinder here is new to the site
Mince coming through a plate
Plate size decides the grind; head size decides the machine.

The Ten Grinders in Detail

1. STX Turboforce 3000 Size #12 — Best Overall

STX International Turboforce 3000 electric meat grinder, size number 12

Read this one bullet and you will never be fooled by a meat grinder listing again.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #12 — largest class here
Headline figure 3000W locked motor wattage
Power under load 800—1200W, stated in the listing
Head Size No.12 polished food-grade aluminium
Hopper 9.75 inches, holds over 3 lb of meat
Auger Advanced Variable Intake, 2 1/8 inch hopper opening
Included 3 stainless blades, 5 grinding plates, 3 stuffing tubes, kubbe maker
Speeds 3
Explicit warning Do not grind bones, tendons, vegetables, nuts or fruit
Warranty 3 years
Rank #21,741 in its category
Price $179.75
Best For Anyone who wants a real #12 grinder and an honest specification

Why We Recommend It

“A Locked Motor Wattage of 3000 Watts but it Normally Uses between 800 Watts & 1200 Watts Under Load.” That is STX explaining, in its own listing, what every “3200W Max” and “2800W Peak” claim on this page actually refers to. Locked-rotor wattage is the current a motor draws in the instant it is stalled and cannot turn — a fault condition lasting a fraction of a second, not a capability. The number that describes grinding is the running figure, and STX is the only maker here to publish both.

Size #12 is the specification that matters more. Grinder sizes are a traditional standard describing the bore of the grinding head, and a #12 head takes larger plates and a bigger auger than the #5 heads on most of the cheap machines here. It is the difference between a machine that processes a deer and one that makes burgers on a Sunday.

The bone warning is written in capitals and repeated. Take it seriously: augers and heads are the expensive parts.

Three-year warranty and US-based support at $179.75, against $419.99 for the next size up in build quality.

Pros

  • Publishes both locked and under-load wattage
  • Genuine size #12 head
  • 3 lb hopper with a 2 1/8 inch opening
  • 5 grinding plates and 3 blades included
  • 3 speeds and a 3-year warranty
  • States plainly what it must not grind

Cons

  • Will not grind bones — explicitly
  • $179.75 is mid-priced here
  • Aluminium grinding head rather than stainless
  • Rank #21,741
  • No throughput figure in pounds per minute
  • No foot pedal on this variant

Best for: Hunters and batch cooks who want a real #12 machine without the LEM price.

View on Amazon

2. CHEFFANO Life 2000W Max — Best Value

CHEFFANO Life electric meat grinder and sausage stuffer, size 5

The cheapest machine on this page has the smallest headline number and the largest real one. That is not a coincidence.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #5
Rated power 500W — highest rated figure among the budget machines
Headline figure 2000W max — lowest headline here
Ratio 4:1, against 10.7:1 elsewhere on this page
Motor Pure copper
Included 2 blades, 3 plates (2mm/5mm/7mm), sausage tubes, kubbe kit
Safety Locking knob, overload protection, auto shut-off on overheat
Cleaning Hand wash only
Rank #20,069 in its category
Price $44.99 — cheapest here
Best For Getting the most genuine motor for the least money

Why We Recommend It

Compare the ratios. This grinder publishes 500W rated against a 2000W maximum — a factor of four. The $58.89 machine elsewhere on this page publishes 300W rated against 3200W max, a factor of nearly eleven. Both statements are technically true, because locked-rotor draw depends on motor design as much as on motor power, but a maker who leads with a 2000W headline and a 500W reality is being considerably more restrained than one leading with 3200W and 300W.

500W rated is genuinely more motor than the 350W in most of this price band, and rated power is the figure that determines how much meat per minute actually goes through.

It is still a #5 machine, which is the small class: fine for burgers, sausage and a batch of mince, not for processing a deer in an afternoon.

Overload and overheat cut-outs are the features that save a cheap motor from being destroyed by one ambitious session.

Pros

  • 500W rated — highest of the budget machines
  • Most restrained headline claim on this page
  • Overload and overheat auto shut-off
  • 2 blades and 3 plates included
  • Sausage and kubbe kits in the box
  • $44.99, the cheapest here

Cons

  • #5 head — the small class
  • No throughput figure published
  • Hand wash only
  • No warranty term published
  • Rank #20,069
  • Not for sustained large batches

Best for: Home cooks grinding a few pounds at a time who want honest specifications.

View on Amazon

Sausages being linked
Stuffing wants slow pressure; grinding wants speed.

3. LEM BigBite #8 — Best Built

LEM Products BigBite number 8 electric meat grinder in stainless steel

Half a horsepower is about 373 watts. This machine grinds seven pounds a minute. Elsewhere on this page, 3200 watts grinds an unstated amount.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #8
Motor 0.5 HP — roughly 373W of actual output
Peak wattage claim None
Throughput About 7 lb per minute — fastest here
Construction Stainless steel
Motor service Permanently lubricated
Noise Noise-dampening design
Included 3 plates, knife, stomper, stuffing tubes
Warranty 5 years, plus lifetime customer support and spare parts
Not for Bones
Rank #28,452 in its category
Price $419.99
Best For Hunters and anyone processing meat by the cooler-load

Why We Recommend It

Horsepower is an output measure; watts as used on this page are an input measure, and a misleading one at that. A motor rated at 0.5 HP delivers roughly 373 watts of mechanical work at the shaft continuously, all day. A motor advertised at “3200W Max” delivers an unstated amount of work and draws 3200 watts only in the instant it seizes. LEM does not publish a peak figure at all, which given the state of this category is a deliberate choice.

Seven pounds a minute is the highest throughput claimed here, from the lowest power figure — which is the clearest possible demonstration that the headline watts on the other listings measure nothing useful.

Stainless steel and a permanently lubricated motor are what the money buys. A five-year warranty with spare parts stocked for discontinued models is a stronger signal of expected life than any wattage.

$419.99 is a serious purchase and only makes sense if you grind regularly. For four burgers a month it is absurd.

Pros

  • 7 lb per minute — fastest here
  • Publishes horsepower rather than a peak wattage
  • Stainless steel construction
  • Permanently lubricated motor
  • 5-year warranty with spare parts stocked
  • Noise-dampened, unusually quiet

Cons

  • $419.99 — most expensive on this page
  • #8 rather than the #12 of cheaper rivals
  • Not for bones
  • Overkill for occasional home use
  • Rank #28,452
  • Heavy on a countertop

Best for: Hunting seasons, bulk buying and anyone who grinds meat as a routine.

View on Amazon

4. Weston #12 Electric Grinder — Best Motor Spec

Weston number 12 electric meat grinder and sausage stuffer, die-cast aluminium

750 watts and 1 horsepower. Those two numbers are consistent with each other, which on this page makes them remarkable.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #12
Motor 750 Watt, 1 HP
Peak claim None
Throughput 4—5 lb per minute
Speeds 2, plus reverse
Slow speed For sausage stuffing
Body Die-cast aluminium with metal gears
Headlock Cam action, for fast assembly
Included Sausage stuffing funnel and stuffing spacer
Rank #41,489 in its category
Price $213.45
Best For Sausage making, where a genuine slow speed matters

Why We Recommend It

One horsepower is 746 watts. Weston publishes both figures and they agree, which tells you the watt number is a real continuous rating rather than a locked-rotor curiosity. Set it beside the $58.89 machine claiming 3200W max from a 300W motor and the difference in what the two listings are doing becomes obvious.

A genuine slow speed is the sausage feature. Stuffing casings and grinding meat want opposite things: grinding wants speed, stuffing wants slow steady pressure so the casing fills evenly without bursting or trapping air. A single-speed grinder run at grinding speed will burst casings, which is why anyone serious about sausage looks for two speeds.

Metal gears rather than nylon is a durability distinction that rarely appears in the specification and matters enormously; nylon gears are a designed sacrificial part.

4—5 lb per minute is honest and below the 5.5 lb/min claimed by a $123.98 machine with less real motor.

Pros

  • 750W and 1 HP, two figures that corroborate
  • Genuine slow speed for sausage stuffing
  • Metal gears rather than nylon
  • Cam action headlock speeds assembly
  • Size #12 head
  • Reverse function for jams

Cons

  • $213.45 for 4—5 lb/min
  • Rank #41,489, lowest here
  • Die-cast aluminium body rather than stainless
  • Fewer plates included than rivals
  • No warranty term published
  • Heavier than it looks

Best for: Sausage making above all, where the slow speed is the whole point.

View on Amazon

5. Aiheal 3200W Max — Most Popular

Aiheal electric meat grinder and sausage stuffer with three tubes, black

Three thousand two hundred watts on the front of the box. Three hundred watts in the specification. Both numbers are in the same listing.

Key Specifications

Headline figure 3200W max locked power
Rated power 300W
Ratio 10.7:1 — widest on this page
Grinder size Not stated
Throughput Not stated
Motor 100% pure copper
Included 2 blades, 3 plates (2mm/5mm/7mm), 3 sausage tubes
Reverse ‘R’ button for unclogging
Safety Locking knob
Cleaning Hand wash, not dishwasher
Rank #6,308 — highest on this page
Price $58.89
Best For Occasional home grinding, if you read the 300W figure and not the 3200W one

Why We Recommend It

To Aiheal’s credit, the rated figure is published — two machines on this page do not publish one at all. But a ratio of 10.7 to 1 is the widest here, and it is worth understanding what the large number is: the current the motor draws in the instant it is stalled and cannot turn. It describes a fault, lasting a fraction of a second, and it is proportional to nothing you will ever experience while grinding.

300W is a small motor. The $44.99 machine on this page rates 500W, and the $419.99 one delivers roughly 373W of actual mechanical output and grinds seven pounds a minute. Neither the grinder size nor the throughput is published here, which makes it impossible to place this machine against them.

Rank #6,308 is by far the best on this page, and for grinding a few pounds of beef for burgers a 300W machine is genuinely adequate.

Three sausage tubes and three plates is a complete kit at the price.

Pros

  • Rank #6,308 — most bought grinder here
  • Publishes its rated wattage, which two rivals do not
  • Three sausage tubes and three grinding plates
  • Pure copper motor
  • Reverse button for clearing jams
  • $58.89

Cons

  • 3200W headline over a 300W motor — 10.7:1
  • No grinder size published
  • No throughput figure published
  • 300W is the smallest rated motor here
  • Hand wash only
  • No warranty term published

Best for: Occasional burgers and sausage, at a price where the small motor is fair.

View on Amazon

A butcher at work
Trade sizes #5, #8 and #12 describe the bore of the head.

6. AAOBOSI 3-Speed Touch Screen — Best Controls

AAOBOSI electric meat grinder with three speed touch screen control

A named sausage mode is more useful than a numbered speed dial, because it tells you what the setting is for.

Key Specifications

Headline figure 3000W max
Rated power 350W
Ratio 8.6:1
Throughput 4 lb per minute
Controls Smart touch colour screen
Modes Meat, Sausage, Reverse
Auto-reverse Anti-clog and anti-jam
Storage Built-in compartment for accessories
Cleaning Blades and plates are dishwasher safe
Grinder size Not stated
Rank #15,205 in its category
Price $84.93
Best For People who want a sausage setting rather than a speed dial

Why We Recommend It

Grinding and stuffing want opposite speeds. Grinding wants the auger turning briskly so meat passes the plate before it warms and smears; stuffing wants slow, even pressure so the casing fills without bursting or trapping air pockets. Machines that offer only one speed do the second job badly. Labelling the settings ‘Meat’ and ‘Sausage’ rather than ‘1’ and ‘2’ means the buyer does not have to know any of that.

Dishwasher-safe blades and plates are unusual here — most listings on this page specifically forbid it, and the ones that do are right that hot detergent dulls and discolours carbon-bearing steel over time.

4 lb per minute from a 350W rated motor is a plausible pairing, and publishing throughput at all puts this ahead of most of the budget machines.

Built-in accessory storage solves the real problem with these machines, which is that the plates and tubes get lost in a drawer within a year.

Pros

  • Named Meat, Sausage and Reverse modes
  • Publishes throughput at 4 lb per minute
  • Auto-reverse to prevent clogging
  • Built-in accessory storage
  • Blades and plates are dishwasher safe
  • Colour touch screen

Cons

  • No grinder size published
  • 3000W headline over a 350W motor
  • Touch screen is a failure point a switch is not
  • $84.93
  • Rank #15,205
  • No warranty term published

Best for: Sausage makers who want the right speed chosen for them.

View on Amazon

7. Kourice 2800W Peak Metal Body — Highest Claim

Kourice electric meat grinder with metal body and auto reverse, grey

Five and a half pounds a minute is a big claim. The listing does not say what motor produces it.

Key Specifications

Headline figure 2800W peak
Rated power Not published
Throughput claimed 5.5 lb per minute
Body Metal, with metal blades and metal plates
Auto-reverse Yes, anti-clog
Plates 3mm, 5mm and 7mm
Included 2 blades, 3 plates, sausage attachment, kubbe attachment, pusher
Cleaning Hand wash only — dishwasher may discolour
Grinder size Not stated
Rank #27,971 in its category
Price $123.98
Best For Buyers who value an all-metal build over published specifications

Why We Recommend It

Set that figure against the machines that do publish their motors. A $213.45 grinder with a genuine 750-watt, one-horsepower motor claims four to five pounds a minute. A $419.99 stainless machine with half a horsepower claims seven. This one claims 5.5 — between them — while publishing a peak figure and no rated power whatsoever. The claim may well be accurate; there is simply nothing in the listing that lets a buyer check it, and “2800W peak” is not a motor specification.

The metal body is a real advantage and worth the attention it gets. Most machines in this price band use plastic housings with a metal grinding head; metal blades, metal plates and a metal body throughout is closer to how a commercial grinder is built and matters for heat dissipation as much as for durability.

Hand wash only, with the listing noting that dishwashers cause discolouration — which is honest, since darkening metal parts is exactly what happens.

3mm rather than 2mm as the fine plate, a slightly coarser fine grind than most here.

Pros

  • All-metal body, blades and plates
  • Claims 5.5 lb per minute
  • Auto-reverse anti-clog
  • Full accessory set including kubbe
  • Honest about dishwasher discolouration
  • Better heat dissipation than plastic bodies

Cons

  • No rated power published at all
  • No grinder size published
  • Throughput claim cannot be checked against any motor figure
  • $123.98
  • Hand wash only
  • Rank #27,971

Best for: Buyers who trust construction over specifications, and can live without both numbers.

View on Amazon

8. CHEFFANO 2800W Max ETL — Best Certified Budget

CHEFFANO electric meat grinder, ETL approved, size 5 with kubbe kit

ETL certification is a genuine third-party mark, and most machines on this page do not carry one.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #5
Headline figure 2800W max peak
Rated power 350W
Throughput About 3 lb per minute
Certification ETL approved
Motor 100% pure copper
Auger Three-layer design, claimed to reduce grinding heat
Plates 2mm, 5mm, 7mm
Electrical 120V, 60Hz
Support Free attachment replacement, 24/7 support
Rank #19,611 in its category
Price $62.99
Best For Budget buyers who want a tested electrical safety mark

Why We Recommend It

ETL is Intertek’s testing mark and it means the product has been tested to the same standards a UL mark covers. It is an electrical-safety certification rather than a performance one, so it says nothing about how much meat the machine grinds — but a 350-watt motor in a metal-bodied appliance handling wet food is exactly the situation where electrical safety testing earns its keep. Two machines here publish ETL and the rest publish nothing.

The three-layer auger claim is about heat. Friction warms meat as it passes the plate, and warm fat smears rather than cutting cleanly, which produces the greyish paste that people complain about instead of distinct grains. Whether a three-layer auger measurably helps is unverifiable from a listing, but the problem it names is real.

Publishing #5 is worth credit. Four machines here do not state a size at all, and it is the specification that tells you what class of machine you are buying.

3 lb per minute from 350W is a consistent, unexciting, believable pairing.

Pros

  • ETL safety certification
  • Publishes its #5 size, which four rivals do not
  • Rated power and throughput both published
  • Free attachment replacement
  • Pure copper motor
  • 2mm fine plate for a genuinely fine grind

Cons

  • #5 is the small class
  • 2800W headline over a 350W motor
  • 3 lb/min is the slowest published rate here
  • Three-layer auger claim is unverifiable
  • Hand wash only
  • Rank #19,611

Best for: Budget buyers who want the size and the certification stated plainly.

View on Amazon

9. Altra Life 2300W Max — Best Protection

Altra Life electric meat grinder and sausage stuffer with handle, black

The protection circuit matters most on exactly this class of machine, because a 350-watt motor is the easiest one to destroy.

Key Specifications

Grinder size #5
Headline figure 2300W max peak
Rated power 350W
Ratio 6.6:1 — among the more restrained here
Throughput 3 lb per minute
Certification ETL
Protection Overload and overheat, with automatic stop
Reverse Clears jams
Plates Fine, medium and coarse
Materials All food-contact parts BPA-free
Rank #24,356 in its category
Price $49.99
Best For First-time buyers most likely to overload a small machine

Why We Recommend It

The way a cheap grinder dies is heat. Someone feeds it sinew, or a piece too large, or simply runs it for twenty minutes without a break; the auger binds, the motor stalls, current spikes to that locked-rotor figure the listings advertise, and the windings cook. An overload cut-out interrupts the circuit before that happens and an overheat sensor stops the motor when the housing gets too hot. Both features cost the maker very little and save the machine.

2300W max is the second most restrained headline here, and against 350W rated the ratio is 6.6:1 rather than the 10.7:1 elsewhere on this page.

ETL certification at $49.99 is the cheapest safety mark on this page.

3 lb per minute, a #5 head and 350W — the three figures agree with each other, which is all you can ask at this price.

Pros

  • Overload and overheat protection with auto shut-off
  • ETL certified at $49.99
  • Publishes size, rated power and throughput together
  • 2300W is a restrained headline claim
  • All food-contact parts BPA-free
  • Reverse clears jams

Cons

  • #5, the small class
  • 350W rated motor
  • 3 lb/min is the slowest published here
  • Hand wash and no hot water
  • No warranty term published
  • Rank #24,356

Best for: First grinders, where the cut-out is the difference between a year and a decade.

View on Amazon

10. Oaomi 3200W Max — Least Specified

Oaomi electric meat grinder and sausage stuffer with kubbe kit, black

This listing ties the highest headline number on the page to no supporting figure whatsoever.

Key Specifications

Headline figure 3200W max
Rated power Not published
Grinder size Not published
Throughput Not published
Motor Pure copper
Safety Safety locks, overload protection, thermostat system
Dishwasher Blades, kubbe makers and plastic parts only
Hand wash Cutting plates, feed screw and retaining ring
Included 2 blades, 3 plates, 3 tubes, kubbe kit
Rank #30,566 in its category
Price $49.98
Best For Buyers who care more about the accessory count than the specification

Why We Recommend It

3200W max is the joint-largest claim here, and it stands entirely alone. There is no rated power, no grinder size and no pounds-per-minute figure anywhere in the listing, which means there is nothing a buyer can use to compare it with anything else — including the machine at $58.89 that makes the identical 3200W claim and at least publishes a 300W rated motor behind it. We are reporting the absence rather than assuming a figure.

The cleaning instruction, by contrast, is the most specific on this page. Blades, kubbe makers and plastic parts may go in the dishwasher; cutting plates, feed screws and retaining rings must be hand washed. That is a genuinely useful division, and it reflects the real distinction — the parts with fine machined mating surfaces are the ones detergent and heat damage.

Overload protection and a thermostat are listed, which is the protection this class of motor needs.

$49.98 with a full accessory set is competitive; it is the specification sheet that is thin, not the box.

Pros

  • Full accessory set at $49.98
  • Unusually specific dishwasher guidance by part
  • Overload protection and a thermostat
  • Safety locks
  • Pure copper motor
  • Three plate sizes and a kubbe kit

Cons

  • No rated power published
  • No grinder size published
  • No throughput published
  • 3200W headline with nothing behind it
  • Rank #30,566
  • No warranty term published

Best for: Buyers shopping on accessory count and price rather than on specification.

View on Amazon

The Headline Number Against the Real One

Every row here is taken from a single listing. The two power columns come from the same page as each other.

Grinder Headline Figure Rated Power Ratio Price
Aiheal 3200W Max 300W 10.7:1 $58.89
Oaomi 3200W Max Not published $49.98
AAOBOSI 3000W Max 350W 8.6:1 $84.93
CHEFFANO ETL 2800W Max 350W 8:1 $62.99
Kourice 2800W Peak Not published $123.98
Altra Life 2300W Max 350W 6.6:1 $49.99
CHEFFANO Life 2000W Max 500W 4:1 $44.99
STX Turboforce 3000W locked 800–1200W stated 2.5:1 $179.75
Weston #12 None 750W / 1 HP $213.45
LEM BigBite #8 None 0.5 HP $419.99

The pattern is unmistakable and it runs the wrong way. The largest headline figures sit on the smallest motors, and the three machines that publish a real continuous rating — STX, Weston and LEM — either publish no peak figure at all or publish both and explain the difference. The cheapest grinder here, at $44.99, has the smallest headline and the largest rated motor of any budget machine on the page. If you take one thing from this table, take the second column.

Cuts of meat on paper
Partly frozen meat cuts cleanly; warm meat smears.

What a Trade Size Tells You That Watts Cannot

#5, #8 and #12 are a century-old standard describing the bore of the grinding head. Four listings here publish one.

#5 #8 #12
On this page CHEFFANO x2, Altra Life LEM BigBite STX, Weston
Price range $44.99–$62.99 $419.99 $179.75–$213.45
Plate diameter Smallest Middle Largest
Throughput published 3 lb/min 7 lb/min 4–5 lb/min
Suits Burgers, a few pounds Regular batches Deer, bulk buying
Sustained use Short bursts Continuous Continuous
Four machines here publish no size at all

Every budget machine on this page that publishes a size is a #5, which is the small class — entirely adequate for burgers, meatballs and a batch of sausage, and not intended for processing an animal. The four machines that publish no size are, on price, almost certainly #5 as well, but their listings do not say so and we are not going to assume it. If you are buying to process game or bulk cuts, buy from the four listings that name a size, because a stated #8 or #12 is a commitment about the head, the auger and the plates that a wattage claim is not.

Best Alternatives

Alternative Why Consider It Better For Main Trade-Off
A stand mixer grinder attachment Uses a motor you already own, stores in a drawer Occasional grinding, a pound or two Slow, and it stresses the mixer’s gears
A hand-crank grinder No motor to burn out, clamps to a table, cheap Small batches and power cuts Hard work past about two pounds
A food processor You may own one; fast for a coarse chop Pâtés, meatballs, pet food Chops rather than grinds — texture is mush, not grain
Asking a butcher to grind for you Free or near it, done properly Anyone grinding a few times a year You choose from what they have, not what you bought

What the Money Actually Buys

$44.99 to $62.99 — CHEFFANO Life, Oaomi, Altra Life, Aiheal, CHEFFANO ETL. All #5 class or unstated, all 300—500W rated, all 3 lb per minute where published. The differences that matter here are honesty and protection: two carry ETL certification, two publish no rated power at all, and the cheapest has the largest real motor.

$84.93 to $123.98 — AAOBOSI and Kourice. You are buying interface and construction rather than motor. A named sausage mode and built-in storage; a full metal body. Neither publishes a trade size.

$179.75 to $213.45 — STX and Weston. This is the step change. Both are #12 machines with genuine continuous power figures, both publish honest numbers, and both grind at rates the budget class cannot sustain. The STX at $179.75 is the best value on this page for anyone grinding seriously.

$419.99 — LEM BigBite #8. Stainless steel, permanently lubricated, seven pounds a minute, five-year warranty and spare parts stocked for discontinued models. It is bought once.

What to Check Before You Buy

Find the Rated Power and Ignore the Peak

The number on the front of the box is almost always a locked-rotor figure: the current the motor draws in the instant it is stalled and physically cannot turn. It lasts a fraction of a second, describes a fault rather than a capability, and is proportional to nothing you will experience while grinding. One listing in this roundup states this in plain language, giving both its 3000-watt locked figure and the 800 to 1200 watts it actually draws under load. Elsewhere the gap reaches 10.7 to 1 — a 3200-watt headline over a 300-watt motor. Two machines here publish no rated figure at all, which leaves nothing to compare.

Read the Trade Size, Because It Describes the Machine

Grinder sizes — #5, #8, #12, #22 and up — are a long-standing standard describing the bore of the grinding head, and therefore the diameter of the plates, the size of the auger and the class of machine. A #5 is a domestic machine for burgers and a few pounds of sausage; a #12 will process a deer over an afternoon. It is the single most informative specification in the category and only four of these ten publish it. Where a listing names a size, it is committing to something physical; where it names 3200 watts, it is not.

Treat Horsepower and Watts as Different Measurements

One horsepower is 746 watts, but the two figures are not interchangeable as used here, because horsepower describes mechanical output at the shaft while the advertised watts describe electrical input at the worst possible instant. A motor rated at 0.5 HP delivers roughly 373 watts of continuous work; a motor advertised at 3200W max delivers an unstated amount. This is why the machine in this roundup with the smallest published power figure claims the highest throughput on the page, at seven pounds a minute. When a maker publishes both watts and horsepower and they agree — 750W and 1 HP — you are looking at a real continuous rating.

Insist on a Reverse Function, and Use It

Every grinder jams. Sinew wraps around the auger, a piece goes in too large, or gristle bridges across the plate, and the machine stops with meat packed solid inside the head. Without a reverse, the only remedy is to unbolt the head and clear it by hand mid-batch, which is unpleasant and wastes meat. Reverse backs the auger off and frees the obstruction in a second or two. Nearly every machine in this roundup has it, usually labelled R or REV, and it is worth confirming before you buy. The related feature to look for is an overload cut-out that stops the motor before a jam cooks the windings.

Chill Everything, Including the Grinder Parts

This matters more than any specification on this page. Fat softens and smears when warm, so instead of being cut cleanly into distinct grains it emulsifies against the plate and comes out as a grey paste with the texture of pâté. The fix is temperature: cube the meat and freeze it for twenty to thirty minutes until firm at the edges but not solid, and put the auger, blade and plate in the freezer at the same time. Cold metal keeps the meat cold as it passes through. Work in batches so nothing sits out warming, and if the output starts looking smeared, stop and chill everything again.

Keep the Blade Flat Against the Plate

A meat grinder cuts the way scissors do: the rotating blade shears against the stationary plate, and the two surfaces must meet flat with no gap. If the retaining ring is loose, the blade is fitted the wrong way round, or either face is worn, the meat is pushed through the holes rather than cut — producing that same smeared texture people blame on the motor. Fit the blade with its flat cutting edges facing the plate, tighten the ring until it is firm without straining, and if grinding degrades over time, look at the mating faces before buying a bigger machine.

Do Not Grind Bones Unless the Maker Says To

Two listings in this roundup state explicitly that their machines will not grind bones, one of them in capital letters and repeated, along with tendons, vegetables, nuts and fruit. This is not legal boilerplate: augers and grinding heads are the expensive components, and bone will chip a plate, blunt a blade or crack a head outright. People try it because they want to make raw pet food, which is a genuine use — but it needs a machine built for it, and none of the ten here is. Sinew and heavy silverskin cause the same trouble more slowly, so trim before you grind.

A grinder plate and blade
The blade must sit flat against the plate or nothing cuts.

Common Mistakes

  • Comparing ‘Max’ wattages between machines. They measure a stall, not a capability.
  • Buying without a stated trade size. Four listings here never say what class the machine is.
  • Grinding meat at room temperature. Warm fat smears into paste instead of cutting.
  • Forgetting to chill the auger, blade and plate too. Warm metal warms the meat immediately.
  • Fitting the blade the wrong way round. It must sit flat against the plate to shear.
  • Feeding sinew and silverskin in. They wrap the auger and jam the head.
  • Grinding bones in a machine not built for them. Two listings here warn against it outright.

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the STX Turboforce at $179.75 if you grind seriously. A genuine #12 head, 800 to 1200 watts under load, five plates, three speeds, three years of warranty — and the only listing here that explains its own headline figure.

Buy the CHEFFANO Life at $44.99 for occasional home grinding. 500 watts rated is the largest real motor in the budget class, behind the most restrained headline claim on this page.

Buy the LEM BigBite at $419.99 if you process game. Stainless, seven pounds a minute, five-year warranty and parts stocked for models no longer made.

Buy the Weston #12 at $213.45 if sausage is the point. A real slow speed for stuffing, metal gears and a motor whose two published figures agree with each other.

Buy the Altra Life at $49.99 as a first grinder. ETL certified with an overload cut-out, which is what saves a small motor from one ambitious afternoon.

A freezer of portions
A grinder pays for itself on bulk cuts and hunting seasons.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does 3000W Max mean on a meat grinder?

It means locked-rotor wattage: the current the motor draws in the instant it is stalled and physically cannot turn. It is a fault condition lasting a fraction of a second, not a measure of how hard the machine works, and it is the figure most of this category prints on the front of the box. One listing in this roundup explains the difference in its own words, giving a 3000-watt locked figure alongside the 800 to 1200 watts the machine actually draws while grinding. Elsewhere the gap is wider still — one grinder advertises 3200 watts over a motor rated at 300. Find the rated or running power, which is usually buried mid-bullet, and compare that instead. Two machines here publish no rated figure at all.

What size meat grinder do I need — #5, #8 or #12?

Grinder sizes describe the bore of the grinding head and therefore the plates, the auger and the class of machine, and they are far more informative than any wattage. A #5 is a domestic machine: fine for burgers, meatballs and a few pounds of sausage at a time, and that is what every budget grinder in this roundup that publishes a size turns out to be. A #8 steps up to regular batches and is where the serious home machines start. A #12 will process a deer over an afternoon and is what you want if you buy meat in bulk or hunt. Larger sizes exist and belong in butchery. Only four of the ten listings here publish a size at all.

Why does my ground meat come out as a grey paste?

Almost always temperature, occasionally assembly. Fat softens as it warms, and soft fat smears against the grinding plate and emulsifies instead of being cut into distinct grains — producing a grey, pâté-like texture rather than the loose strands you want. The fix is to cube the meat and freeze it for twenty to thirty minutes until the edges are firm, and to put the auger, blade and plate in the freezer at the same time so cold metal keeps the meat cold on the way through. If everything is properly chilled and it still smears, check the blade: it must sit flat against the plate with its cutting edges facing it, and the retaining ring must be firm, or the meat is pushed through the holes rather than sheared.

Can I grind bones for raw pet food?

Not in any of the machines in this roundup, and two of them say so explicitly — one in capital letters, repeated, alongside warnings against tendons, vegetables, nuts and fruit. Bone will chip a grinding plate, blunt or crack a blade, and can damage the head itself, which is the expensive part of the machine. Grinders built for bone exist and are constructed differently, with hardened plates and considerably more torque. Making raw pet food from soft scraps and trim is a perfectly reasonable use of a domestic grinder — several listings here mention it — but the bones are not, and a machine ruined this way is not a warranty claim.

Do I need two speeds, or is one enough?

One is enough for grinding and poor for sausage. Grinding wants the auger turning briskly so meat passes the plate quickly, before friction warms it and the fat begins to smear. Stuffing casings wants the opposite: slow, steady pressure that fills the casing evenly without bursting it or trapping air pockets that turn into gaps in the finished sausage. A single-speed machine run at grinding speed will burst casings and frustrate you. Two machines in this roundup address this — one with a genuine slow speed intended for stuffing, another with named modes labelled Meat and Sausage rather than numbered speeds, which saves the buyer having to know any of this.

Is an expensive meat grinder worth it over a $50 one?

It depends entirely on how much meat you put through it. The budget machines in this roundup are #5 class with 300 to 500 watt motors grinding around three pounds a minute, and for burgers, meatballs and the occasional batch of sausage that is genuinely adequate — one of them is the most popular grinder on this page. What they will not do is sustain long sessions, which is where small motors overheat and where an overload cut-out becomes the most valuable feature on the machine. If you hunt, buy meat in bulk, or grind most weeks, a #8 or #12 with a real continuous motor rating grinds twice as fast, does not need rest periods, and comes with warranties measured in years rather than nothing at all.

Final Verdict

Best OverallSTX Turboforce 3000 Size #12

A genuine #12 head, 800 to 1200 watts under load, five plates and three speeds — and the only listing on this page that explains what its own headline number means. $179.75.

Best ValueCHEFFANO Life 2000W Max

500 watts rated, the largest real motor of any budget machine here, behind the most restrained headline claim on the page. $44.99.

Best BuiltLEM BigBite #8

Stainless steel, half a horsepower, seven pounds a minute — the fastest here from the smallest published power figure — and five years of warranty. $419.99.

One grinder here advertises 3200 watts over a 300-watt motor. Another advertises no watts at all, delivers half a horsepower, and grinds seven pounds a minute. That contradiction is the whole category.

‘Max’ and ‘Peak’ wattage describe a stalled motor, which is a fault lasting a fraction of a second. One maker on this page writes that out in its own listing, and it is the most useful sentence in this roundup.

The number that describes a meat grinder is the trade size — #5, #8, #12. Four listings here publish it. Four never mention a size at all, and two never publish a motor rating either.

Buy the $44.99 machine if you grind a few pounds at a time; it has the largest real motor in its class. Buy the $179.75 #12 if you grind properly. Ignore everything printed in large type.