Skip to content

Only One Best Food Processor Pizza Dough Pick States a Weight

Ninja BN601 Professional Plus food processor and Cuisinart 14-cup food processor compared side by side

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This does not affect the price you pay.

Every food processor on this page says it makes dough. Exactly one says how much.

The Ninja BN601 states two pounds of dough in as little as thirty seconds. That is a number you can plan around — roughly three to four 12-inch bases. Every other listing here, including two Cuisinarts costing two and three times as much, says its machine kneads dough and stops there.

The number they all give you instead is bowl capacity, and bowl capacity is not dough capacity. Fourteen cups of bowl does not mean fourteen cups of dough. Dough is dense, and it loads a motor continuously in a way that chopped onion never does. The bowl is sized for volume; the motor is sized for work; and only one of those two is printed on the front of the box.

So this roundup compares the machines on the three things you can actually check: stated bowl capacity, stated wattage where a listing gives one, and whether there is a real dough blade rather than a sharp chopping blade doing a job it was not shaped for.

Ten food processors, all verified in stock, from $35.90 to $274.95 — and where a listing declines to state something, that absence is recorded rather than filled in with a guess.

Our Quick Picks

Ninja BN601 Professional Plus food processorBest OverallNinja BN601 Professional Plus

Two pounds of dough in as little as thirty seconds — the one machine on this page that tells you how much dough it makes rather than that it makes dough.

View on Amazon

Cuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor food processorMost PowerCuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor

Seven hundred and twenty watts behind a 14-cup bowl — the most motor per cup on this page, at the price that implies.

View on Amazon

OLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W food processorBest BudgetOLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W

Ten and a half cups, a stated 600 watts and a multi-blade set for thirty-six dollars — the cheapest way onto this page.

View on Amazon

At a Glance

Ten Food Processors, Compared on What They Tell You

Bowl capacity, whether a dough figure is stated at all, whether there is a dedicated dough blade, and the power figure each listing publishes.

# Model Bowl Dough Stated Dough Blade Power Standout Main Drawback Check Price
1
Ninja BN601 Professional Plus food processorNinja BN601 Professional Plus
9 cups 2 lbs stated Dough blade, preset Auto-iQ dough program The only listing here that states a dough weight and a time 9-cup bowl is mid-sized for the price View on Amazon
2
KitchenAid KFP0921 9-Cup food processorKitchenAid KFP0921 9-Cup
9 cups Not stated Dedicated dough blade Manual, no preset Named specifically for bread and pizza crust No dough weight or time given View on Amazon
3
Hamilton Beach Stack & Snap 14-Cup food processorHamilton Beach Stack & Snap 14-Cup
14 cups Not stated Dough blade included 500 W stated The largest bowl here for $79.99 500 W is modest for 14 cups of dough View on Amazon
4
Cuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor food processorCuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor
14 cups Not stated Dough blade included 720 W stated The highest stated wattage in this roundup $274.95 — three times the Ninja View on Amazon
5
Cuisinart 11-Cup Extra-Large Feed food processorCuisinart 11-Cup Extra-Large Feed
11 cups Not stated Chipping/mixing/dough blade 625 W stated An extra-large feed tube and a stated 625 W Rank is shared with the 14-cup model View on Amazon
6
Ninja Professional Plus 1000PW food processorNinja Professional Plus 1000PW
9 cups Not stated Specialized dough blade 4 Auto-iQ programs Four presets, one of them dedicated to dough 1000PW is a peak figure, not sustained watts View on Amazon
7
FOHERE 12-Cup 2-in-1 food processorFOHERE 12-Cup 2-in-1
12 cups Not stated Kneading among 5 functions Manual settings Twelve cups for under sixty dollars No wattage and no dough figure anywhere View on Amazon
8
TWOMEOW 12-Cup 1000 W food processorTWOMEOW 12-Cup 1000 W
12 cups Not stated Kneading listed 1000 W stated 1000 stated watts and 12 cups for $69.99 No dough blade named, and a very low rank View on Amazon
9
GVODE 12-Cup Glass Bowl food processorGVODE 12-Cup Glass Bowl
12 cups 2:1 flour to liquid Dedicated dough blade 600 W, 120-second cycle States a dough cycle time and a flour-to-liquid ratio Plastic dough blade, and a glass bowl to lift View on Amazon
10
OLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W food processorOLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W
10.5 cups Not stated Multi-blade, dough listed 600 W stated Ten and a half cups and 600 W for $35.90 Near-identical to two other listings under different brands View on Amazon

Specifications and prices are taken from each manufacturer’s Amazon listing as displayed on 23 August 2026 through a United States connection, and may change. Bowl capacity is the manufacturer’s figure for the work bowl and is not a dough capacity; only one listing in this roundup states a dough weight. Wattage is recorded only where a listing publishes a figure, and peak ratings such as “1000PW” are noted as peak rather than sustained — the two are not directly comparable. Sales ranks are shown as displayed and can be pooled across a variant family, so a rank may belong to a sibling product rather than the model listed.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column

How We Chose These Ten

We researched current listings, compared manufacturer specifications and documentation, and examined recurring patterns in customer feedback. We did not carry out hands-on testing, and nothing below is presented as measured performance data.

  • Dough capability stated on the listing — 18 of 27 live machines named dough or kneading; the nine that did not are excluded
  • A verified live buy box — all ten were confirmed purchasable in the United States on 23 August 2026
  • Whether it is a food processor at all — blender-and-processor kitchen systems were excluded, since the processor bowl is a secondary function
  • Bowl capacity stated in cups — quoted as the manufacturer gives it, and never treated as a dough capacity
  • A published wattage, or an honest note that there is none — four of the ten state no power figure whatsoever
  • Whether the dough blade is dedicated or implied — a named dough blade and ‘kneading’ in a feature list are not the same claim
  • Brand spread — eight brands across ten slots
A ball of pizza dough
Two pounds of dough is roughly three to four 12-inch bases. Only one listing here says so.

The Ten Food Processors in Detail

1. Ninja BN601 Professional Plus — Best Overall

Ninja BN601 Professional Plus food processor with dough blade and preset programs

“2 lbs of dough in as little as 30 seconds.” No other listing in this roundup commits to a weight at all.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 9 cups
Stated dough capacity 2 lbs
Stated dough time As little as 30 seconds
Dough control Auto-iQ preset program
Presets 4 intelligent programs
Blades Chopping and dough blades included
What 2 lbs means Roughly three to four 12-inch bases
Price $89.99
Best For Anyone who wants a number rather than a promise

Why We Recommend It

A stated dough capacity is the specification this category refuses to give you. Every machine here says it kneads dough. One says how much. Two pounds is roughly three to four 12-inch pizza bases at typical weights, which means you can plan a Friday night around it instead of guessing whether the motor will stall halfway.

The thirty-second claim matters for a different reason than speed. Food processor motors are not designed for sustained load, and dough is the heaviest sustained load a home cook will ever put through one. A machine that finishes in thirty seconds spends thirty seconds under that load. One that takes three minutes spends three minutes getting hot.

The Auto-iQ dough preset takes the judgement away, which for dough is genuinely useful. Overworking pizza dough in a processor is easy because the blade is fast and the window between combined and overheated is short. A timed program is a crude fix, but crude fixes are what stop a beginner ruining a batch.

Nine cups is the honest limitation. It is a mid-sized bowl, and if you regularly make more than two pounds at once you want the 14-cup machines here. For a household making pizza for four, nine cups and two pounds line up sensibly.

Pros

  • Only listing here that states a dough weight — 2 lbs
  • States a dough time as well: about 30 seconds
  • Auto-iQ preset removes the overworking judgement
  • Dough blade included, not an extra
  • $89.99 and the second-best rank in this roundup
  • Roughly three to four 12-inch bases per batch

Cons

  • 9-cup bowl is mid-sized for $89.99
  • No wattage stated anywhere in the listing
  • Presets suit beginners more than practised bakers
  • Plastic bowl scratches over time
  • Tall footprint for a countertop
  • Two pounds is a ceiling, not a target

Best for: The pizza household that wants a stated capacity and a preset that prevents mistakes.

View on Amazon

2. KitchenAid KFP0921 9-Cup — Best Build

KitchenAid KFP0921 nine cup food processor with dough blade in contour silver

The listing names pizza crust explicitly, then declines to say how much of it the machine will make.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 9 cups
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Dough blade Included and named for bread and pizza crust
Control Manual — no dough preset
Functions Chop, shred, mince, slice, knead, whip, mix, puree
Wattage Not stated in the listing
Rank #3,897 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $129.99
Best For Buyers who trust the brand and will learn the feel

Why We Recommend It

The dough blade is a real one, not a rebadged chopping blade. A dough blade is blunt and short-armed on purpose: it folds and pushes rather than cuts, which develops gluten instead of shredding it. Machines that claim dough capability using the standard S-blade are doing something different and worse.

What you are buying at $129.99 is the mechanism, not the specification. KitchenAid’s food processors are built around a heavier motor housing and a locking bowl designed to take repeated load. That is worth real money over the life of the machine, and it is why the same nine cups costs forty dollars more here than on the Ninja.

No preset means you are the timer. That suits someone who has made dough before and can see when it has come together; it is less forgiving for a first attempt than the Ninja’s program. Neither approach is wrong, but they suit different buyers.

The missing numbers are a genuine mark against it. No wattage, no dough weight, no time. For a machine positioned on quality, declining to quantify the hardest job it does is an odd omission.

Pros

  • Dedicated dough blade named for bread and pizza crust
  • Build quality is the reason to pay the premium
  • Locking bowl designed for repeated load
  • Wide function set beyond dough
  • Better rank than every budget machine here
  • Manual control suits practised bakers

Cons

  • No dough capacity stated anywhere
  • No wattage stated either
  • $129.99 for the same 9 cups as the $89.99 Ninja
  • No dough preset for beginners
  • You supply the judgement on when to stop
  • Heavier to move on and off a counter

Best for: Someone buying for build quality who already knows what finished dough looks like.

View on Amazon

Flour on a work surface
Hydration decides how hard the motor works. One machine publishes its preferred ratio.

3. Hamilton Beach Stack & Snap 14-Cup — Biggest Bowl

Hamilton Beach Stack and Snap fourteen cup food processor with dough blade

Fourteen cups for $79.99, and unusually for this page, a wattage figure to judge it by.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 14 cups
Wattage 500 W, stated
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Attachments 4 — reversible slice/shred disc, 2 chopping blades, dough blade
Second bowl Mini bowl included
Speeds 2 plus pulse
Assembly Stack & snap, no twist locking
Price $79.99
Best For Big batches, if you respect the motor

Why We Recommend It

Bowl capacity and dough capacity are not the same number, and this is the clearest example. Fourteen cups of bowl does not mean fourteen cups of dough. Dough is dense and it loads the motor in a way chopped vegetables never do — the bowl is sized for volume, the motor for work, and only one of those is on the box.

500 watts is the figure to think about. It is stated, which is more than most listings here manage, and it is modest for the bowl it is driving. For a single pizza batch that is fine. For repeated heavy doughs in one session it is the component that will complain first.

Stack & snap assembly is a real convenience. No twisting to lock means the bowl seats without alignment fiddling, which matters more than it sounds when your hands are covered in flour.

The mini bowl earns its place for the small jobs that would otherwise sit in the bottom of a 14-cup bowl untouched by the blade.

Pros

  • 14 cups — the largest bowl in this roundup
  • Wattage stated: 500 W
  • $79.99 for the most capacity per dollar
  • Four attachments including a proper dough blade
  • Mini bowl for small jobs
  • Stack & snap needs no twist-locking

Cons

  • 500 W is modest for a 14-cup bowl under dough
  • No dough capacity or time stated
  • Rank is the weakest of the established brands here
  • 2 speeds only
  • Large footprint to store
  • Bowl volume will tempt you past what the motor likes

Best for: Households making large batches who will not run heavy dough back to back.

View on Amazon

4. Cuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor — Most Power

Cuisinart fourteen cup food processor with 720 watt motor and dough blade

720 watts against 14 cups is roughly 51 watts per cup — the best power-to-bowl ratio on this page by a clear margin.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 14 cups
Wattage 720 W, stated — the highest here
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Watts per cup About 51, the best ratio in this roundup
Blades Chopping, mixing and dough
Build Cuisinart’s long-running full-size chassis
Rank #1,749 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $274.95
Best For Repeated heavy dough where the motor is the limit

Why We Recommend It

Watts per cup is the comparison the listings do not make for you. The Hamilton Beach drives the same 14 cups with 500 W, about 36 watts per cup. This one gives you 720 W for the same volume. For chopping that difference is invisible; for dough, which loads the motor continuously, it is the whole difference between a machine that finishes and one that heats up.

That said, wattage is an input, not an output. It tells you what the motor draws, not how well the gearing and blade deliver it. It is a useful proxy precisely because so few listings state anything better — not because it is the ideal measure.

The chassis is the other half of what $274.95 buys. This is Cuisinart’s long-running full-size design, and its reputation rests on surviving exactly the load dough applies. Whether that is worth three times a Ninja depends entirely on how often you make dough.

A note on the rank. This machine shows #1,749 in Kitchen & Dining — and so does the Cuisinart 11-cup Extra-Large Feed Tube model below, a different product at $199.95. Amazon pools rank across a variant family, so both display the family’s figure rather than their own.

Pros

  • 720 W — the highest stated wattage here
  • Best watts-per-cup ratio in the roundup
  • 14-cup bowl with the motor to justify it
  • Dough blade included
  • The chassis Cuisinart’s reputation is built on
  • Handles repeated heavy batches

Cons

  • $274.95 is the highest price on this page
  • No dough capacity or time stated
  • Rank is shared with the 11-cup variant
  • Large and heavy to store
  • Overkill for one pizza night a month
  • Wattage is an input measure, not a performance one

Best for: Anyone making dough weekly who has burnt out a cheaper machine.

View on Amazon

5. Cuisinart 11-Cup Extra-Large Feed — Best Feed Tube

Cuisinart eleven cup food processor with extra large feed tube and dough blade

Eleven cups on 625 watts is about 57 watts per cup — on paper the hardest-working motor per unit of bowl in this roundup.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 11 cups
Wattage 625 W, stated
Watts per cup About 57 — the highest ratio here
Feed tube Extra-large
Included Chipping/mixing/dough blade, shredding and 4 mm slicing discs, stem, spatula, two pushers
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Rank #1,749 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $199.95
Best For Prep beyond dough, at close to full-size power

Why We Recommend It

The extra-large feed tube is a prep feature, not a dough feature, and it is worth saying so plainly. It matters when you are slicing potatoes or shredding cheese for the pizza, not when you are kneading. On a page about dough it earns its place because a food processor bought for dough will spend most of its life doing everything else.

Eleven cups is arguably the right size for pizza. Fourteen is more bowl than a two-pound dough needs and stores worse; nine can be tight. Eleven with 625 W is a sensible middle, and the accessory set is the most complete here.

The same missing number applies. No dough weight, no time. Cuisinart names the dough blade in the included list and stops there.

The shared rank is worth repeating. #1,749 is displayed on this machine and on the 14-cup model at $274.95. It is a family figure, so do not read it as evidence that these two sell equally.

Pros

  • 625 W — the best watts-per-cup ratio here
  • Most complete accessory set in the roundup
  • Extra-large feed tube cuts pre-chopping
  • 11 cups suits a two-pound dough well
  • Cuisinart full-size chassis
  • Two pusher sizes for control

Cons

  • No dough capacity or time stated
  • Rank is pooled with the 14-cup model
  • $199.95 is high against the Ninja’s stated figures
  • Feed tube size does not help with dough
  • Heavy
  • More parts to wash than a simple machine

Best for: Someone who wants near-full-size power and does far more prep than dough.

View on Amazon

Kneading dough by hand
A dough blade folds and pushes. A chopping blade cuts, which is the opposite of what gluten needs.

6. Ninja Professional Plus 1000PW — Best Presets

Ninja Professional Plus food processor with four Auto-iQ preset programs

A dedicated dough program among four presets — and a power figure you should read carefully.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 9 cups
Presets 4 Auto-iQ — chop, slice, puree, dough
Dough blade Specialised, named for bread, pizza and pastry
Stated dough capacity Not stated on this listing
Power figure 1000PW — a peak rating, not sustained watts
Control One-touch programs
Rank #1,087 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $109.99
Best For Set-and-forget dough with no judgement required

Why We Recommend It

“1000PW” is peak wattage, not the sustained figure. Peak numbers describe what a motor can draw for an instant, usually at startup; sustained wattage describes what it can hold under load. Dough is a sustained load, so the peak figure is the less useful of the two — and it is the one printed on the box. The Cuisinarts here quote 720 W and 625 W, which are sustained ratings and not directly comparable to 1000PW.

The preset is the real product. One touch and the machine runs its own dough cycle, which removes the most common beginner error: running until it looks smooth, by which point the gluten is overworked and the base will fight back when you stretch it.

Oddly, this listing omits the two-pound figure that its BN601 sibling states. Same maker, same category, and one commits to a number while the other does not. Where a figure is absent we have recorded it as absent.

Nine cups again, which is the size Ninja has settled on for this class and a reasonable match for a two-pound batch.

Pros

  • Dedicated dough preset among four programs
  • Specialised dough blade named for pizza
  • One-touch operation removes the overworking error
  • Strong rank at #1,087
  • $109.99
  • Same 9-cup format as the well-specified BN601

Cons

  • 1000PW is a peak rating, not sustained watts
  • No dough weight stated, unlike its BN601 sibling
  • No true wattage figure given
  • Presets suit beginners more than experienced bakers
  • Plastic bowl
  • Tall on a counter

Best for: A first food processor where the machine should make the timing decisions.

View on Amazon

7. FOHERE 12-Cup 2-in-1 — Best Mid-Budget

FOHERE twelve cup food processor with two in one feed chute

Twelve cups for $59.48. The Cuisinart with a comparable bowl is $199.95, and the difference is mostly in what you are told.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 12 cups
Functions 5 — whisking, kneading, chopping, slicing, pureeing
Feed chute 2-in-1
Wattage Not stated
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Controls Simple manual settings
Care Dishwasher-safe parts
Price $59.48
Best For Maximum bowl for the money, accepting unknowns

Why We Recommend It

Kneading appears in a list of five functions and nowhere else. There is no dough blade named, no dough weight, no time, no wattage. That is a lot of unknowns on the specific job this page is about, and it is the honest reason this sits mid-table rather than higher despite the capacity.

Twelve cups is genuinely useful capacity and it is the cheapest route to it here. For someone who mostly chops and occasionally makes a base, the value case is real.

The 2-in-1 feed chute is a practical touch that lets whole and sliced produce use the same opening, which cuts the pre-cutting that makes food processors feel like more work than a knife.

Set expectations on the motor. With no wattage published and a low rank, this is a machine to use for a single batch rather than back-to-back heavy doughs. Buy it for capacity and versatility, not for dough endurance.

Pros

  • 12 cups for $59.48 — the cheapest large bowl here
  • Five functions including kneading
  • 2-in-1 feed chute reduces pre-cutting
  • Dishwasher-safe parts
  • Simple manual controls, nothing to learn
  • Good value if dough is occasional

Cons

  • No wattage stated anywhere
  • No dough blade specifically named
  • No dough capacity or time
  • Very low rank in the category
  • Unknown motor endurance under sustained load
  • Little brand track record for heavy use

Best for: Budget buyers who want twelve cups and make dough occasionally rather than weekly.

View on Amazon

8. TWOMEOW 12-Cup 1000 W — Most Watts Per Dollar

TWOMEOW twelve cup food processor with four programs and pulse

A thousand watts, twelve cups, $69.99. The figures are the best on the page and the rank is among the worst, which is worth sitting with.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 12 cups
Wattage 1000 W, stated
Watts per cup About 83 — the highest figure here
Programs 4 plus pulse
Dough Kneading listed among the functions
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Rank #70,977 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $69.99
Best For Buyers who weight stated power heavily

Why We Recommend It

Take the wattage seriously and sceptically at once. 1000 W stated against 12 cups is about 83 watts per cup, well clear of the Cuisinart’s 51. But wattage claims from brands without a track record are the least externally checked numbers in this category, and the listing does not say whether it is a sustained or peak figure. We record it as stated.

Kneading is listed as one capability among many, without a named dough blade. That is a meaningful gap: a proper dough blade is blunt and folds, and a machine kneading with a sharp S-blade is cutting gluten strands rather than developing them.

The rank is the counterweight to the specification. At #70,977 this is far behind every established machine here. Rank measures sales rather than quality, but the gap between the numbers on the box and the number of people buying it is large enough to note.

Four programs plus pulse is a sensible control set and pulse in particular is the right tool for dough, letting you work in bursts rather than one continuous heat-building run.

Pros

  • 1000 W stated — highest raw figure here
  • About 83 watts per cup, the best ratio on paper
  • 12 cups for $69.99
  • 4 programs plus pulse
  • Pulse is the right control for dough
  • Cheapest route to a four-figure wattage claim

Cons

  • No dough blade specifically named
  • Wattage is not stated as sustained or peak
  • #70,977 rank — among the lowest here
  • No dough capacity or time
  • Little independent track record
  • Kneading listed as one of many functions

Best for: Spec-led buyers comfortable with an unproven brand.

View on Amazon

9. GVODE 12-Cup Glass Bowl — Most Specific

GVODE twelve cup food processor with glass bowl and dough kneading function

A 120-second cycle and a 2:1 flour-to-liquid ratio. No other listing in this roundup gives you a working method.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 12 cups, glass
Wattage 600 W, stated
Dough cycle 120 seconds per cycle, stated
Stated ratio 2:1 flour to liquid for optimal dough
Dough blade Dedicated, BPA-free plastic
Also does Meat grinding, slicing, shredding
Rank #99,200 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $74.99
Best For Anyone who wants the machine to tell them the recipe ratio

Why We Recommend It

Publishing a flour-to-liquid ratio is genuinely unusual and genuinely useful. A 2:1 ratio by weight is a 50% hydration dough — stiff, and on the dry side of most pizza recipes, which typically run 60 to 65%. That tells you something real: this machine is happier with a firm dough than a wet one, which is exactly the kind of limit the other listings leave you to discover by stalling the motor.

A fixed 120-second cycle is a double-edged specification. It removes guesswork, and it removes control. Two minutes is a long time under load for a 600 W motor, and it is longer than a well-hydrated dough needs.

The glass bowl is a real trade. It does not scratch or stain the way polycarbonate does and you can see the dough forming, which matters. It is also heavier to lift on and off and it will break if dropped.

The dough blade is plastic, which the listing states plainly. For folding dough that is defensible — a dough blade is not meant to cut — but it is a wear part.

Pros

  • States a 120-second dough cycle
  • Publishes a 2:1 flour-to-liquid ratio — unique here
  • Dedicated dough blade, not a repurposed S-blade
  • Glass bowl resists scratching and staining
  • 600 W stated
  • Also grinds meat

Cons

  • 2:1 is a stiff 50% hydration — dry for pizza
  • Fixed 120-second cycle removes control
  • Plastic dough blade is a wear part
  • Glass bowl is heavy and breakable
  • Lowest rank in this roundup at #99,200
  • Two minutes under load is hard on a 600 W motor

Best for: The methodical baker who wants stated parameters rather than feel.

View on Amazon

10. OLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W — Best Budget

OLIXIS 10.5 cup food processor with 600 watt motor and multiple blades

Thirty-six dollars for 10.5 cups and a stated 600 watts. Also: two other listings in this search describe the same machine.

Key Specifications

Bowl capacity 10.5 cups
Wattage 600 W, stated
Dough Listed among vegetables, meat and purees
Stated dough capacity Not stated
Blades Multi-blade set
Positioning Listing claims it replaces four machines
Rank #70,797 in Kitchen & Dining
Price $35.90
Best For A first food processor where dough is an experiment

Why We Recommend It

Worth knowing before you buy. This search returned three listings at 10.5 cups and 600 W within three dollars of each other, under OLIXIS twice and KMfurnila once. The specifications, capacity and power are identical. That pattern usually means one factory supplying several brand names, and it means comparing those three on brand is comparing labels rather than machines.

Six hundred watts against 10.5 cups is a reasonable ratio — about 57 per cup, the same as the $199.95 Cuisinart. What you are not buying at this price is the chassis, the bearings and the track record that determine whether the motor is still doing that in three years.

Dough appears in a list, not as a feature. “Vegetables, meat, dough, and purees” is the extent of the commitment. There is no dough blade named and no capacity given, so treat dough as something to try rather than the reason to buy.

As a first processor it is defensible. If it turns out you make dough weekly, you will know what to spend properly on next.

Pros

  • $35.90 — the cheapest machine here by a wide margin
  • 10.5 cups is real capacity for the money
  • 600 W stated, about 57 watts per cup
  • Multi-blade set included
  • Low-risk way to find out whether you will use one
  • Replaces several single-purpose gadgets

Cons

  • Three near-identical listings under two brand names
  • No dough blade named
  • No dough capacity or time stated
  • Low rank and no track record
  • Unknown durability under repeated dough load
  • Bowl material and build reflect the price

Best for: A first processor, or a spare, where dough is an experiment rather than the point.

View on Amazon

The Machine That Gives You a Number

Same nine cups, forty dollars apart, and one of them tells you what it will actually do.

Ninja BN601 KitchenAid KFP0921
Price $89.99 $129.99
Bowl 9 cups 9 cups
Stated dough weight 2 lbs Not stated
Stated dough time About 30 seconds Not stated
Wattage stated No No
Dough control Auto-iQ preset Manual
Dough blade Included Included, named for pizza crust

The KitchenAid is the better-built machine and the Ninja is the better-specified one. If you have made dough before, build quality is worth the forty dollars. If you have not, a stated capacity and a preset that stops at the right moment are worth more.

A margherita before the oven
The base is where a processor either saved you time or cost you a batch.

Watts Per Cup, Where Anyone States Both

Only five listings here publish a wattage. Set against bowl size, they separate sharply.

Machine Bowl Stated watts Watts per cup
Cuisinart 11-Cup 11 cups 625 W ~57
OLIXIS 10.5-Cup 10.5 cups 600 W ~57
Cuisinart 14-Cup 14 cups 720 W ~51
Hamilton Beach 14-Cup 14 cups 500 W ~36
TWOMEOW 12-Cup 12 cups 1000 W ~83, unverified

The Hamilton Beach drives the largest bowl here with the least power per cup, which is fine for a single batch and is the figure to remember before you fill it. Note also that the $35.90 OLIXIS matches the $199.95 Cuisinart on this ratio — which is exactly why watts per cup is a starting point rather than an answer. It says nothing about bearings, chassis or how long any of it lasts.

Best Alternatives

Alternative Why Consider It Better For Main Trade-Off
A stand mixer with a dough hook Built for sustained kneading, not bursts Anyone making dough weekly Far more expensive and much larger
Your hands Free, and you feel exactly when it is ready Learning what finished dough should feel like Ten minutes of work per batch
A bread machine on dough setting Set and forget, proves it too Hands-off dough with no attention One appliance for one job
A large bowl and a dough scraper No motor to overload, no parts to wash Wet, high-hydration doughs a processor struggles with Slower, and messier

What the Money Actually Buys

$35.90 to $79.99 — OLIXIS, FOHERE, TWOMEOW, GVODE, Hamilton Beach. This tier buys capacity and stated wattage, and buys almost no track record. Three of the five publish a power figure and none publishes a dough capacity. The Hamilton Beach is the one with a real name behind it, and it is also the one with the least power per cup.

$89.99 to $129.99 — Ninja BN601, Ninja 1000PW, KitchenAid. The most useful tier for dough specifically. The BN601 is the only machine on the page that states a dough weight and a time; the KitchenAid is the best built; the 1000PW sits between them with a preset and a peak-rated power figure.

$199.95 to $274.95 — the two Cuisinarts. Sustained wattage, full-size chassis, the most complete accessory sets, and no dough figures at all. You are buying a machine that will still be doing this in a decade, on trust rather than on published numbers.

What to Check Before You Buy

Bowl Capacity Is Not Dough Capacity

This is the single most misleading number in the category. A 14-cup bowl describes volume; dough describes load. Dense dough puts continuous strain on a motor that chopping never does, and no manufacturer here except Ninja tells you where that limit is. Treat cups as a guide to how much you can fit, not to how much the machine will knead.

Look for a Dough Weight, and Notice When There Isn’t One

One listing in this entire roundup states a figure: two pounds, in about thirty seconds. That is enough to plan a pizza night. Nine others say only that the machine kneads. An absent number is not proof a machine is weak, but it does mean you are buying on faith on the one job you came for.

Check the Dough Blade Is a Real One

A proper dough blade is blunt and short-armed. It folds and pushes, which develops gluten. A standard S-blade is sharp and fast, and it cuts gluten strands rather than building them. Several machines here list “kneading” among their functions without naming a dough blade at all — that is a meaningfully weaker claim.

Peak Watts and Sustained Watts Are Different Numbers

A figure like “1000PW” is a peak rating: what the motor draws for an instant, usually at startup. The Cuisinarts here quote 720 W and 625 W, which are sustained figures. Dough is a sustained load, so the sustained number is the relevant one, and comparing a peak rating against a sustained one will flatter the wrong machine.

Work Out Watts Per Cup Yourself

Only five listings publish both numbers, and the spread between them is wide: about 36 watts per cup at the bottom and about 57 at the top among the established brands. It is a rough proxy and it ignores gearing, bearings and build entirely — but when most of the category publishes nothing, a rough proxy beats no proxy.

Hydration Decides How Hard the Motor Works

One machine here publishes a preferred flour-to-liquid ratio of 2:1 by weight, which is a stiff 50% hydration dough. Most pizza recipes run wetter, at 60 to 65%. A wetter dough is easier on a motor but harder to handle; a stiff one is the reverse. If a maker publishes a ratio, it is telling you what its machine was tuned for.

Use Pulse, Not a Continuous Run

Whatever you buy, working dough in bursts rather than one long run keeps the motor cooler and gives you a chance to look at what is happening. The machines with presets do a version of this automatically; on a manual machine it is the single habit that most extends the life of the motor.

Dough proving in a bowl
Overworked dough fights back when you stretch it. Presets exist to prevent that.

Common Mistakes

  • Reading bowl capacity as dough capacity. Fourteen cups of bowl is not fourteen cups of dough, and nothing on the box says where the real limit is.
  • Comparing a peak wattage against a sustained one. 1000PW and 720 W are not measuring the same thing.
  • Kneading with the chopping blade. A sharp S-blade cuts gluten strands. It is the opposite of what dough needs.
  • Running the machine until the dough looks smooth. By then it is usually overworked, and the base will spring back when you stretch it.
  • Making a wet, high-hydration dough in a small processor. It climbs the blade and stalls; that dough wants hands or a stand mixer.
  • Filling a 14-cup bowl because it holds 14 cups. The motor, not the bowl, is the limit.
  • Assuming an unstated wattage means a weak motor. Two of the best-built machines here publish no figure at all.

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the Ninja BN601 if you want to know what you are getting. Two pounds in thirty seconds is the only stated dough capacity on this page, and $89.99 is a fair price for a machine that commits to a number.

Buy the Cuisinart 14-Cup if you make dough weekly. 720 sustained watts and the chassis to match is what you buy after burning out something cheaper.

Buy the KitchenAid if build quality is the point and you already know by eye when dough is done.

Buy the Hamilton Beach for capacity on a budget, and keep in mind that 500 W is driving the biggest bowl here.

Buy the OLIXIS if you are not sure you will use one. At $35.90 it is a cheap way to find out, as long as you treat dough as an experiment.

A finished pizza on a peel
Everything upstream of this is thirty seconds of motor load.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much dough can a food processor actually handle?

Only one listing in this roundup answers that: the Ninja BN601 states two pounds in as little as thirty seconds, which is roughly three to four 12-inch pizza bases. Every other machine here, including Cuisinarts at $199.95 and $274.95, states a bowl capacity and says only that it kneads dough. Bowl capacity is not a reliable guide, because dough loads a motor continuously in a way that chopping does not — a 14-cup bowl will physically hold far more dough than its motor wants to knead. In the absence of a stated figure, a safe assumption for a 9 to 14 cup machine is around a pound and a half to two pounds, worked in short pulses.

Can I make pizza dough in a food processor at all, or do I need a stand mixer?

You can, and for pizza specifically a processor has one real advantage: speed. Thirty to sixty seconds of a dough blade does what eight to ten minutes of hand kneading does, because the blade works the gluten far faster. The trade is control. A stand mixer with a dough hook is built for sustained kneading and lets you watch the dough come together over minutes; a processor gets there so quickly that the window between combined and overworked is narrow. If you make dough weekly, a stand mixer is the better tool. If you make it occasionally and want it fast, a processor is genuinely good at this.

What is a dough blade and does it matter?

It matters more than almost anything else on the spec sheet. A dough blade is blunt and shorter-armed than a chopping blade: it folds and pushes the mass around the bowl, which stretches and aligns gluten strands. A standard S-blade is sharp and tall, and it slices through those strands as fast as they form. Machines that list “kneading” as one of several functions without naming a dough blade are usually describing the S-blade doing a job it was not shaped for — the dough will come together, but it will be weaker and it will tear rather than stretch.

Does higher wattage mean better dough?

Up to a point, and only if you compare like with like. Wattage describes what the motor draws, not what it delivers to the blade — gearing, bearings and blade design all sit in between. It is a useful proxy here mainly because most of the category publishes nothing better. Two cautions: a peak rating such as “1000PW” describes an instantaneous draw and is not comparable to a sustained figure like 720 W, and wattage claims from brands with no track record are the least independently checked numbers in the category. Set watts against bowl size rather than reading them alone.

Why do several listings look like the same machine?

Because some of them are. This search returned three listings at 10.5 cups and 600 watts within three dollars of each other, under two different brand names. Identical capacity, identical power, near-identical descriptions. That pattern usually indicates one factory supplying multiple brands, and it means choosing between those listings on brand alone is choosing between labels rather than machines. It is worth checking whether the “alternatives” you are comparing are actually alternatives.

What hydration should I use in a processor?

Drier than you might for hand-mixed dough. One machine here publishes its preferred ratio — 2:1 flour to liquid by weight, which is a stiff 50% hydration — and that is a reasonable guide for processors generally. Most pizza recipes run 60 to 65% hydration, and at that level a wet dough tends to climb the blade and slap around the bowl rather than knead, which stalls smaller motors. If you want a high-hydration base, combine in the processor briefly and finish by hand, or use a stand mixer instead.

Final Verdict

Best OverallNinja BN601 Professional Plus

The only machine here that states a dough capacity and a time: 2 lbs in about 30 seconds, with a preset that stops before you overwork it. $89.99.

Most PowerCuisinart 14-Cup Food Processor

720 sustained watts behind 14 cups — the best power-to-bowl ratio among the established brands, and the chassis to keep delivering it.

Best BudgetOLIXIS 10.5-Cup 600 W

$35.90 for 10.5 cups and a stated 600 W. A cheap way to find out whether you will use one at all.

Buy the Ninja BN601 if dough is why you are shopping. Two pounds in about thirty seconds is the only dough figure published on this page, and a machine willing to commit to a number is telling you something about the number. At $89.99 it also undercuts the KitchenAid with the same bowl by forty dollars.

Buy the Cuisinart 14-Cup if you make dough every week and want the machine still doing it in ten years. Seven hundred and twenty sustained watts, a full-size chassis, and no published dough capacity — you are buying reputation rather than specification, and in this category that is a defensible thing to buy.

The habit that matters more than the purchase is working the dough in pulses and stopping while it still looks slightly rough. Every machine here can make a pizza base. The ones that ruin a batch do it because the operator ran them until the dough looked finished, by which point the gluten has been cut rather than developed and the base will fight you on the peel.

And before you compare two machines on capacity, check whether either of them has told you what it will actually knead. Nine times out of ten on this page, neither has.