
Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This does not affect the price you pay.
Every sous vide cooker is sold on its wattage. It is in the product title, the bullets and usually the brand’s own model naming, and it runs from 850 to 1200 watts across this roundup.
Five of the ten machines below state exactly 1100 watts. They cost $43.99, $89.99, $105.99, $130.44 and $239.66. Identical headline figure, and the dearest is five and a half times the cheapest.
It gets stranger inside a single brand’s own range. Anova’s Precision Cooker Mini states 850 watts and a 16-litre bath for $29.00. Anova’s Precision Cooker 2.0 states 1000 watts and an 8-litre bath for $114.99. More power, half the water, four times the price — from the same manufacturer’s specification tables.
The reason is that wattage only governs one thing: how fast a bath reaches temperature. Holding it there afterwards draws a small fraction of the rated figure, because you are only replacing heat lost through the surface and the walls. On a domestic pot the difference between 850 and 1200 watts is a few minutes at the start of a twelve-hour cook.
The specification that actually describes a circulator — how precisely it holds the number you set — is published by exactly two of these ten machines. Neither is Anova or Breville.
Our Quick Picks
Best OverallAnova Precision Cooker 3.0
The model that made sous vide domestic, now with a touch panel that works whether or not you open the app.
Best ValueWancle M820
Forty-four dollars for 1100 watts, a 20-litre bath, IPX7 waterproofing and a stated accuracy of a tenth of a degree.
Most AutomatedBreville Joule Turbo
The most software-driven machine here — pick a doneness from a photograph and let a cloud algorithm shorten the cook.
At a Glance
Ten Sous Vide Cookers Compared
Wattage set against what it does and does not predict — stated bath size, control method, build and price.
| # | Model | Wattage | Stated Bath | Control | Body | Standout | Main Drawback | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 |
1100 W | 16 L | Touch and app | Stainless steel | The category standard, with onboard controls | Costs three times a 1100 W rival | View on Amazon |
| 2 |
Breville Joule Turbo |
1100 W | 40 L | App only | Stainless steel | Turbo mode and doneness-by-picture | App only, with no controls on the device | View on Amazon |
| 3 |
Anova Precision Cooker Pro |
1200 W | 50 L | App | Stainless steel | Highest wattage and largest stated bath | Its table says 50 L and its bullets say 100 L | View on Amazon |
| 4 |
Greater Goods 0535 |
1100 W | 15 L | Single dial | PC and stainless | Publishes its setting increments and readout | No app at all, by design | View on Amazon |
| 5 |
KitchenBoss G300S |
1100 W | 16 L | Touch | SUS304 stainless | Brushless motor and an all-steel wet path | No accuracy figure despite the precision claims | View on Amazon |
| 6 |
Inkbird ISV-100W |
1000 W | 15 L | WiFi and app | Metal | Remote monitoring at a third of Breville’s price | Slimmest body needs a deep pot | View on Amazon |
| 7 |
Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 |
1000 W | 8 L | App | Plastic and steel | Sized honestly for a domestic saucepan | Smallest stated bath here, at a mid price | View on Amazon |
| 8 |
Wancle M820 |
1100 W | 20 L | Touch | Stainless steel | Publishes an accuracy figure, and is the cheapest 1100 W here | 220 V listing, check the plug before ordering | View on Amazon |
| 9 |
Anova Precision Cooker Mini |
850 W | 16 L | Bluetooth app | Plastic | Twenty-nine dollars from the category leader | Bluetooth only, and the lowest rating in the roundup | View on Amazon |
| 10 |
Atmovac SV-PRO |
900 W stated | 31.7 qt | Touch | Stainless steel | A 31.7-quart bath and a perfect rating | Its table says 900 W and its bullets say 1200 W | View on Amazon |
Specifications, prices and ratings are taken from each manufacturer’s Amazon listing as displayed on 20 August 2026 and may change. Stated bath figures are the capacity values in each listing’s own specification table. Two listings contradict themselves and both are shown in full: the Anova Precision Cooker Pro states 50 litres in its table and up to 100 litres in a commercial setting in its bullets, and the Atmovac SV-PRO states 900 watts in its table and 1200 watts in its bullets. Three machines publish no capacity figure at all and were not selected on that basis. Four of the ten are Anova models, which reflects how much of this category one brand occupies rather than an editorial preference; the intra-brand comparison is also where the wattage finding is clearest. Containers, racks, lids, neoprene sleeves, carry cases, weights and bags returned by the same Amazon category were excluded as they are not circulators.
Scroll the table sideways to see every column
How We Chose These Sous Vide Cookers
We researched current listings, compared manufacturer specifications and documentation, and examined recurring patterns in customer feedback. We did not carry out hands-on testing, and nothing below is presented as measured performance data.
- Stated bath size read against wattage — the two do not track, and the listings invite you to assume they do
- Whether a temperature accuracy figure is published — only two of these ten state one, and they are not the premium brands
- Onboard control or app only — a machine with no panel is dead when the phone or the app is
- Motor and wet-path construction — brushless motors and steel impellers matter on twelve-hour and overnight runs
- Internal consistency of the listing — two machines here contradict their own specification tables
- Circulators only — containers, racks, lids, sleeves, cases, weights and bags were excluded

The 10 Best Sous Vide Cookers, Reviewed
1. Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 — Best Overall

Anova launched the first Precision Cooker in 2014 and the 3.0 is the fourth iteration of it. The adjustable clamp fits most pots deep enough to meet the minimum water line, and the stainless skirt comes off for cleaning.
It states 1100 watts and a 16-litre bath.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1100 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 16 litres |
| Control | Touch panel plus WiFi app |
| Dimensions | 4.1″D x 3.07″W x 12.8″H |
| Weight | 1.9 pounds |
| Body | Stainless steel with a removable skirt |
| Model | AN525-US00 |
| Rating | 4.4 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | A first circulator that will not be the limiting factor later |
Why We Recommend It
The touch panel is the reason to pick this over the app-only models. Anova’s own Nano and Pro are controlled from the phone; this one sets time and temperature on the device itself, which matters on a machine you may still be using in eight years when the app has changed three times.
Sixteen litres is enough for a large stockpot, which covers everything short of a whole brisket.
What the 1100 watts does not explain is the price. Four other machines in this roundup state exactly 1100 watts, and one of them costs $43.99. The wattage is not what the extra eighty-six dollars buys — the onboard controls, the stainless skirt and eleven years of the same clamp design are.
Pros
- Onboard touch control, not app-only
- 16-litre stated bath
- Stainless steel with a removable cleaning skirt
- Clamp fits most standard stockpots
- The longest-running model line in the category
Cons
- Three times the price of a 1100 W rival here
- 4.4 stars, mid-pack in this roundup
- App content sits behind a subscription
- No temperature accuracy figure published
Best for: Anyone who wants the category standard and expects to keep it.
2. Breville Joule Turbo — Most Automated

Joule inverts the usual interface. Instead of setting 54.5°C for two hours, you pick the doneness you want from a set of photographs and the app works backwards to the numbers.
Turbo mode then uses a higher bath temperature and a shortened time to reach a comparable result faster.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1100 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 40 litres |
| Control | App only, no onboard panel |
| Turbo mode | Stated to cut cook time roughly in half |
| Dimensions | 4.5″D x 4.5″W x 15″H |
| Weight | 2.1 pounds |
| Model | BSV600PSS |
| Rating | 4.4 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | Cooks who would rather choose a result than a temperature |
Why We Recommend It
Prime Time is the feature that changes how you cook rather than what you cook. It reports the window during which the food will be at its best rather than a single finish time, which is the honest description of how sous vide actually behaves and removes the pressure to plate at an exact minute.
Forty litres is the second largest stated bath here, and the polished stainless body is the best-finished machine in the roundup.
It is app-only. There is no way to set a temperature on the device, so a dead phone or a discontinued app is a dead cooker. At $239.66 it is also the second most expensive machine here, on the same 1100 watts as the $43.99 Wancle.
Pros
- Choose doneness visually rather than numerically
- Turbo mode shortens cooks substantially
- Prime Time gives a window rather than a deadline
- 40-litre stated bath, second largest here
- Polished stainless, the best-finished machine in the roundup
Cons
- App only, with no controls on the machine itself
- $239.66, second dearest here
- Depends on cloud computing for Turbo mode
- Same stated wattage as a machine at a fifth of the price
Best for: Cooks who want the software to decide the numbers.

3. Anova Precision Cooker Pro — Best for Big Batches

The Pro is the one machine here built for duty rather than for dinner. Three pounds, ruggedised stainless, 1200 watts and a 50-litre bath in the specification table.
Its own bullets then claim it will heat up to 100 litres in a commercial setting.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1200 watts, highest here |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 50 litres in the specification table |
| Also claimed | Up to 100 litres in a commercial setting, per its bullets |
| Control | App |
| Dimensions | 2.4″D x 3.5″W x 13.8″H |
| Weight | 3 pounds, heaviest here |
| Body | Stainless steel, ruggedised |
| Rating | 4.6 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | Long continuous runs and baths past 20 litres |
Why We Recommend It
Those two numbers are both on the same listing, and they differ by a factor of two. Fifty litres is the figure in the structured specifications and is the one to plan around; 100 litres is a marketing claim qualified by “in a commercial setting”, which is doing a lot of work in that sentence.
Either way it is the largest capacity in this roundup, and at 1200 watts the fastest to bring a big bath up to temperature. For a 50-litre cooler full of water that genuinely matters — heat-up time is the one job wattage really does govern.
At $199 it is app-controlled with no onboard panel, and it is the second dearest machine here.
Pros
- 1200 watts, the highest in this roundup
- 50-litre stated bath, the largest here
- Ruggedised stainless for continuous running
- 4.6 stars, joint highest of the mains-brand machines
- Genuinely faster on large volumes
Cons
- Listing states 50 L in the table and 100 L in the bullets
- $199.00, second dearest here
- App-controlled with no panel on the device
- 3 pounds, the heaviest machine in the roundup
Best for: Big baths, long runs, and kitchens that cook sous vide most days.
4. Greater Goods 0535 — Best Without an App

Twist to set the temperature, press to start. There is no app, no WiFi, no Bluetooth, no account and nothing to pair, and Greater Goods puts that in the product title rather than hiding it.
It is also the only listing here that states its control resolution: 0.5°F increments with a 0.1°F live readout.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1100 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 15 litres |
| Temperature range | 68–203°F |
| Increments | 0.5°F, with a 0.1°F live readout |
| Timer | 1 minute to 99 hours |
| Control | Single dial, no app, WiFi, Bluetooth or account |
| Dimensions | 6.5″D x 2.7″W x 15.6″H |
| Model | 0535 |
| Best For | Anyone who wants a cooking appliance rather than a connected device |
Why We Recommend It
That is the specification sous vide is actually about, and almost nobody publishes it. The entire premise of the technique is holding a bath at a temperature a conventional method cannot, so how finely the machine resolves and reports that temperature matters more than how fast it got there. Neither Anova nor Breville states a figure anywhere in this roundup.
The 99-hour timer covers the long end — brisket, short ribs, yoghurt — and the range runs from 68°F for delicate fish to 203°F for vegetables and stocks.
Fifteen litres is modest, and at 6.5 inches deep it is the widest body here, which limits which pots the clamp suits.
Pros
- States 0.5°F increments and a 0.1°F readout, unique here
- No app, WiFi, account or pairing required
- Wide 68–203°F range
- 99-hour timer for long cooks
- $89.99 for a 1100-watt machine
Cons
- 15-litre stated bath, among the smallest here
- 6.5 inches deep, the widest body in the roundup
- No remote monitoring if you want it
- 4.4 stars, mid-pack
Best for: Cooks who do not want a kitchen appliance that needs an account.
5. KitchenBoss G300S — Quietest

Every part of this machine that meets the water is SUS304 stainless, including the propeller. Most circulators here use a plastic impeller and skirt.
The motor is brushless DC rather than brushed, running at a stated 2900 rpm.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1100 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 16 litres |
| Motor | Brushless DC, stated at 2900 rpm |
| Wet path | SUS304 stainless propeller and housing, no plastic |
| Control | Touch |
| Dimensions | 2.8″D x 2.8″W x 15″H |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds |
| Model | G300 |
| Best For | Long overnight cooks in a room you also sleep in |
Why We Recommend It
Brushless matters for two reasons and noise is the obvious one. A sous vide cook runs for hours and often overnight, and a brushed motor whining in the kitchen is the reason people stop doing long cooks. The other reason is life: brushes are the wearing part, and this is a machine that may run 24 hours at a stretch.
Higher circulation also means a more even bath, which is what actually prevents the cold corner in a large container — a far more common cause of uneven results than a machine being 100 watts short.
KitchenBoss describes a “high-precision control chip” but publishes no accuracy figure, which is the same gap most of this roundup has.
Pros
- Brushless DC motor, quiet enough for overnight runs
- SUS304 stainless wet path with no plastic
- 2900 rpm circulation for an even bath
- 4.6 stars, joint highest here
- Onboard touch control
Cons
- No stated temperature accuracy despite the precision language
- 3.6 pounds, among the heaviest
- 15 inches tall, needs a deep pot
- $105.99 on the same 1100 watts as a $43.99 machine
Best for: Overnight and multi-day cooks where motor noise is the real constraint.

6. Inkbird ISV-100W — Best WiFi Value

Inkbird’s main business is temperature controllers and probes, which is a reasonable pedigree for a machine whose only real job is holding a number.
The app is free and carries no subscription, which distinguishes it from Anova’s content tier.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1000 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 15 litres |
| Control | WiFi with a free app |
| Dimensions | 2.36″D x 2.36″W x 16.14″H |
| Body | Metal |
| Model | ISV-100W |
| App cost | Free, no subscription |
| Rating | 4.5 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | Remote monitoring without a subscription |
Why We Recommend It
WiFi on a sous vide cooker is more useful than it sounds, precisely because the cooks are long. A twelve-hour short rib does not need supervision, but knowing from another room that the bath is still at temperature and the timer is running is genuinely worth something on an overnight cook.
At $95.99 that is roughly a third of what the Joule Turbo costs for connected control, and unlike the Joule this one is not app-only in an emergency.
At 2.36 inches square it is the slimmest machine in the roundup, though at 16.14 inches it is also the tallest, so the pot has to be deep as well as narrow.
Pros
- Free app with no subscription
- WiFi monitoring at a third of the Joule’s price
- Slimmest body here at 2.36 inches square
- Temperature-control pedigree from the brand’s core business
- 4.5 stars
Cons
- 16.14 inches tall, the tallest machine here
- 15-litre stated bath
- 1000 watts rather than the 1100 most rivals claim
- No stated accuracy figure
Best for: Long overnight cooks you want to check from your phone.
7. Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 — Best for Small Pots

Eight litres is a large saucepan rather than a stockpot, and it is the smallest stated capacity of any machine in this roundup.
For one or two portions that is the right size, and a smaller bath comes to temperature faster and holds it with less drift.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1000 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 8 litres, smallest here |
| Control | WiFi app |
| Dimensions | 3.07″D x 3.07″W x 12.8″H |
| Weight | 2 pounds |
| Voltage | 110 volts |
| Model | AN500-US00 |
| Rating | 4.5 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | Cooking for one or two in an ordinary saucepan |
Why We Recommend It
This machine is also the clearest evidence that wattage does not tell you what a circulator can handle. It states 1000 watts and 8 litres. The Anova Mini, from the same manufacturer, states 850 watts and 16 litres — half the extra power, twice the stated bath, and it costs $29.00 against this one’s $114.99.
Both numbers come from the same company’s own specification tables. Whatever separates these two machines, it is not the 150 watts.
What this does have over the Mini is full WiFi rather than Bluetooth-only control, a partly stainless body, and a higher rating at 4.5.
Pros
- Right-sized for one or two portions
- Full WiFi rather than Bluetooth only
- 4.5 stars
- Small baths reach temperature faster and drift less
- Partly stainless construction
Cons
- 8-litre stated bath, half the 850 W Mini’s at four times the price
- $114.99 for the smallest capacity here
- App-controlled with no onboard panel
- App content sits behind a subscription
Best for: Cooking for one or two in a pot you already own.
8. Wancle M820 — Best Value

Forty-three ninety-nine buys the same stated 1100 watts as the Anova 3.0, the Breville Joule Turbo, the Greater Goods and the KitchenBoss — machines costing $89.99, $105.99, $130.44 and $239.66.
It also states an accuracy figure, ±0.1°C, which neither Anova nor Breville does anywhere in this roundup.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 1100 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 20 litres |
| Stated accuracy | ±0.1°C |
| Temperature range | 25–90°C |
| Waterproofing | IPX7, rinsable under a tap |
| Weight | 0.73 kg, lightest here |
| Voltage | Listed as 220 volts — see note |
| Model | M820 |
| Best For | Finding out whether sous vide is for you, at a tenth of the price |
Why We Recommend It
IPX7 is the specification worth having on a device that lives in water. It means the unit can be rinsed directly under a running tap rather than wiped around the seals, and on an appliance whose entire lower half is submerged for twelve hours at a time that is a durability claim rather than a convenience one.
Twenty litres is more stated capacity than the Anova 3.0, the Greater Goods, the Inkbird or the KitchenBoss offer, and at 0.73 kg it is the lightest machine here.
One thing to check before ordering: the specification table lists 220 volts, which does not match a US outlet. Confirm the plug and voltage of the variant you are buying, because the listing is not consistent with the rest of this roundup on that point.
Pros
- Cheapest 1100 W machine in the roundup at $43.99
- States ±0.1°C accuracy, which the premium brands do not
- IPX7 rated, rinsable under a tap
- 20-litre stated bath, larger than machines three times the price
- 0.73 kg, the lightest here
Cons
- Specification table lists 220 volts — verify the plug
- Temperature tops out at 90°C, lower than rivals
- No app or remote monitoring
- Little brand history behind it
Best for: A first circulator, or a second one for a bigger second bath.
9. Anova Precision Cooker Mini — Cheapest Here

Twenty-nine dollars is the cheapest way into this category from a brand that has been in it since 2014, and Anova’s own listing makes the point that the machine costs less than one dinner out.
It states 850 watts and a 16-litre bath.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 850 watts |
|---|---|
| Stated bath | 16 litres |
| Control | Bluetooth app plus touch |
| Dimensions | 4.13″D x 2.2″W x 12.2″H |
| Weight | 1.8 pounds |
| Body | Plastic |
| Model | AN300-US00 |
| Rating | 4.1 out of 5 stars, lowest here |
| Best For | Trying sous vide properly for the price of a steak |
Why We Recommend It
Hold those two numbers against the Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 on the same manufacturer’s specification tables: 1000 watts and 8 litres, for $114.99. The cheaper, lower-wattage machine claims twice the water capacity of the dearer, higher-wattage one.
That is the clearest demonstration in this roundup that wattage does not describe how much water a circulator can handle. Wattage governs how quickly a bath reaches temperature. Holding it there afterwards costs a small fraction of the rated draw, which is why an 850-watt unit can maintain a bath that a spec-sheet reading would say it cannot.
The compromises are real: Bluetooth rather than WiFi, so no monitoring from another room, a plastic body, and 4.1 stars — the lowest rating in this roundup.
Pros
- $29.00, cheapest machine here by a distance
- 16-litre stated bath, double the 1000 W Anova 2.0’s
- Onboard touch control as well as the app
- Anova clamp and ecosystem
- 1.8 pounds and 12.2 inches, the shortest machine here
Cons
- 4.1 stars, the lowest rating in the roundup
- Bluetooth only, no remote monitoring
- Plastic body
- 850 watts means slower heat-up on a large bath
Best for: Trying sous vide properly without committing three figures to it.
10. Atmovac SV-PRO — Best Commercial

Atmovac builds commercial vacuum and sous vide equipment, and the SV-PRO is priced accordingly at $299.99 — the most expensive machine in this roundup by sixty dollars.
It carries a 5.0 rating, the only perfect score here, and a stated 31.7-quart bath.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 900 watts in the specification table |
|---|---|
| Also claimed | 1200 W in the listing’s own bullets |
| Stated bath | 31.7 quarts, about 30 litres |
| Body | Stainless steel |
| Dimensions | 5.9″D x 3″W x 13.4″H |
| Weight | 2.9 pounds |
| Model | SV-PRO |
| Rating | 5.0 out of 5 stars |
| Best For | Restaurant service and very large domestic baths |
Why We Recommend It
A 30-litre bath is restaurant territory: a full hotel pan or a large insulated container, running service-length cooks rather than one dinner. The stainless body and 2.9-pound weight are built for that duty cycle.
Its own listing cannot agree on the wattage. The structured specification table says 900 watts. The second bullet on the same page says “1200W Power & Digital Controls”. Those are not close, and on the dearest machine in this roundup it is a strange thing to leave unresolved.
It is also worth noting that a 5.0 rating usually reflects a small number of reviews rather than a consensus, so treat it as promising rather than proven.
Pros
- 31.7-quart stated bath, the largest capacity here in volume
- 5.0 star rating, the only perfect score
- Commercial-grade stainless construction
- Built for continuous service-length running
- Onboard digital controls
Cons
- Listing states 900 W in the table and 1200 W in the bullets
- $299.99, the most expensive machine here
- 5.0 rating likely rests on few reviews
- Overkill for domestic single-dinner cooking
Best for: Restaurant service, or domestic cooking at hotel-pan scale.
What Wattage Predicts, and What It Does Not
Sorted by stated wattage, with each machine’s own stated bath capacity beside it. If the two tracked, this table would climb steadily. It does not.
| Wattage | Machine | Stated bath | Price here |
|---|---|---|---|
| 850 W | Anova Precision Cooker Mini | 16 litres | $29.00 |
| 900 W | Atmovac SV-PRO | 31.7 quarts, about 30 litres | $299.99 |
| 1000 W | Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 | 8 litres | $114.99 |
| 1000 W | Inkbird ISV-100W | 15 litres | $95.99 |
| 1100 W | Wancle, Greater Goods, KitchenBoss, Anova 3.0, Breville | 15 to 40 litres | $43.99–$239.66 |
| 1200 W | Anova Precision Cooker Pro | 50 litres | $199.00 |
Read the 850-watt row against the 1000-watt Anova row. The cheaper machine with less power states twice the water capacity, and both figures come from the same manufacturer. Then read the 1100-watt row, where a single wattage covers five machines spanning $43.99 to $239.66 and 15 to 40 litres. Wattage governs heat-up time and nothing else: once a bath is at temperature, a circulator is only replacing heat lost through the surface, which costs a fraction of the rated draw. It is a real specification for anyone filling a 40-litre cooler. For a stockpot on a weeknight it is close to irrelevant, and it is not what separates these prices.

The Specification Almost Nobody Publishes
Sous vide exists to hold a temperature more precisely than a pan can. Two of these ten machines say how precisely. Here is everything published on the subject across the roundup.
| States a figure | States words only | States nothing | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Machines | Wancle M820, Greater Goods 0535 | KitchenBoss G300S | Anova x4, Breville, Inkbird, Atmovac |
| What they publish | ±0.1°C; 0.5°F steps with a 0.1°F readout | “high-precision control chip” | — |
| Price here | $43.99, $89.99 | $105.99 | $29.00–$299.99 |
| Stated range | 25–90°C; 68–203°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Count | 2 of 10 | 1 of 10 | 7 of 10 |
The two machines that publish an accuracy figure are the $43.99 Wancle and the $89.99 Greater Goods — the two cheapest brands in this comparison. Anova across four models and Breville on its $239.66 flagship state nothing at all. That is not evidence those machines are imprecise; Anova and Breville have long reputations and thousands of reviews doing that work instead, and a stated tolerance from an unknown brand is a claim rather than a measurement. But it does mean the one number that describes what a sous vide cooker is for cannot be used to compare across this category, while the one number that describes the least is on every box.
Best Alternatives
| Alternative | Why Consider It | Better For | Main Trade-Off |
|---|---|---|---|
| A pot, a thermometer and a low burner | You already own all of it | Trying the technique once | Needs constant attention and still drifts several degrees |
| A multicooker with a sous vide setting | One appliance instead of two | Kitchens short on storage | No circulation, so the bath develops hot and cold spots |
| A dedicated water oven | Enclosed, insulated and quieter | Frequent long cooks | Large fixed footprint and a much higher price |
| A combi or steam oven | Precise, and it also roasts and bakes | Anyone rebuilding a kitchen anyway | Ten to thirty times the cost of a circulator |
| Reverse searing in a conventional oven | Free, and gets most of the way there | Thick steaks and roasts | Cannot hold a temperature below the oven’s minimum |
What Each Price Tier Actually Buys
$29 to $44 — Anova Mini, Wancle M820. Both state 16 and 20-litre baths and both work. The Mini brings the Anova clamp and app; the Wancle brings 1100 watts, IPX7 waterproofing and the only stated accuracy figure at this price. Neither offers WiFi. This tier is genuinely enough to learn whether you will keep cooking this way.
$90 to $106 — Greater Goods, Inkbird, KitchenBoss. The value tier, and the most interesting one. You are choosing a philosophy rather than a power figure: Greater Goods removes the app entirely and publishes its resolution, Inkbird adds free WiFi monitoring, KitchenBoss adds a brushless motor and an all-steel wet path. All three state 1000 or 1100 watts.
$115 to $131 — Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 and 3.0. Brand, ecosystem and eleven years of the same clamp design. The 3.0 adds onboard touch control, which is the meaningful upgrade over the app-only models; the 2.0 states the smallest bath in the roundup at 8 litres.
$199 to $300 — Anova Pro, Breville Joule Turbo, Atmovac SV-PRO. Genuinely different machines rather than better ones. The Pro is ruggedised for continuous duty and states 50 litres. The Joule sells software — visual doneness, Turbo mode, Prime Time. The Atmovac is commercial equipment at 31.7 quarts.
The pattern: price in this category buys interface, build and bath size. It does not buy wattage, which plateaus at 1100 across four of these five tiers.
How to Choose a Sous Vide Cooker
Size the Bath, Not the Watts
Work out the largest container you will realistically use and match the stated capacity to it. Eight litres is a big saucepan and suits one or two portions; 15 to 20 litres is a stockpot and covers most households; 40 litres and up is a cooler or a hotel pan. Wattage decides how long that volume takes to reach temperature at the start, and nothing after that.
Insist on Controls Physically on the Machine
Several machines here, including the $239.66 Joule Turbo and Anova’s Pro and Nano, have no way to set a temperature without a phone. That is fine until the app is rewritten, the account system changes or the phone is flat mid-cook. A touch panel or a dial on the device makes the machine independent of a software roadmap you do not control.
Look for a Published Accuracy or Resolution Figure
Only two machines in this roundup state one. It is the specification the whole technique depends on, so where a brand does publish it — ±0.1°C, or 0.5°F steps with a 0.1°F readout — that is worth more than any wattage claim. Where a brand does not, you are relying on its reputation and review volume instead, which for Anova and Breville is a reasonable thing to rely on.
Check the Motor and What Touches the Water
These machines run for hours and often overnight, so noise and wear matter more than in appliances used for minutes. A brushless motor is quieter and has no brushes to wear out. A stainless impeller and skirt clean more easily than plastic and survive long immersion better. Circulation rate also decides whether a large container develops a cold corner.
Look for IPX7 if the Listing Offers It
The lower half of a circulator is submerged for the entire cook, so waterproofing is a durability specification rather than a convenience. An IPX7 rating means the unit can be rinsed directly under a tap. Only one machine in this roundup states it, and it is the $43.99 one.
Read the Listing Against Itself
Two machines here contradict their own pages: one states 50 litres in the specification table and 100 litres in the bullets, the other states 900 watts in the table and 1200 watts in the bullets. Where the structured table and the marketing copy disagree, plan around the table — and treat the disagreement itself as information about how carefully the listing was assembled.

Common Sous Vide Cooker Buying Mistakes
- Buying on wattage. Five machines here state 1100 watts at prices from $43.99 to $239.66, and one brand’s 850 W model states twice the bath of its own 1000 W model.
- Assuming more watts means more water. It means faster heat-up. Holding temperature costs a fraction of the rated draw.
- Choosing an app-only machine without thinking about it. Three machines here cannot be set without a phone, including the second most expensive.
- Ignoring the container. The circulator is half the purchase; a pot deep enough to meet the minimum water line is the other half.
- Forgetting the sear. No circulator browns anything. Every sous vide steak needs a hot pan or a torch afterwards.
- Overbuying capacity. A 50-litre machine in an 8-litre pot behaves exactly like an 8-litre machine, only louder and dearer.
- Trusting a 5.0 rating. A perfect score usually means very few reviews rather than universal agreement.
Which Sous Vide Cooker Should You Buy?
Buy the Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 if you want the category standard with controls on the machine as well as in the app, and a 16-litre bath that will not limit you.
Buy the Wancle M820 if you want to spend as little as possible without giving anything up. The cheapest 1100-watt machine here, with a 20-litre bath, IPX7 and a stated ±0.1°C — just verify the plug and voltage first.
Buy the Breville Joule Turbo if you would rather pick a doneness from a photograph than set a temperature, and you are comfortable with an app-only machine.
Buy the Greater Goods 0535 if you want a cooking appliance rather than a connected device. One dial, no account, and the clearest temperature specification in the roundup.
Buy the KitchenBoss G300S if you cook overnight. A brushless motor and an all-stainless wet path, at 4.6 stars.
Buy the Inkbird ISV-100W if you want to check a twelve-hour cook from another room without paying for a subscription.
Buy the Anova Precision Cooker Pro if you run big baths or long service. Twelve hundred watts and a 50-litre stated capacity, ruggedised for continuous use.
Buy the Anova Mini if you simply want to try the technique. Twenty-nine dollars, from the brand that started the category.

Frequently Asked Questions
Does wattage matter on a sous vide cooker?
Only for how quickly the bath reaches temperature at the start. Once the water is at your setting the circulator is replacing heat lost through the surface and the container walls, which costs a small fraction of the rated draw. That is why one manufacturer’s 850-watt model states a 16-litre bath while its own 1000-watt model states 8 litres, and why five machines in this roundup share an identical 1100-watt figure at prices from $43.99 to $239.66. If you are heating 40 litres in a cooler, wattage is worth paying for. For a stockpot on a weeknight it is a few minutes.
How accurate are sous vide cookers?
Most listings will not tell you, which is the odd part given that holding a precise temperature is the entire technique. Only two of the ten machines here publish a figure: one states ±0.1°C and the other states 0.5°F setting increments with a 0.1°F live readout. The rest, including four Anova models and the Breville Joule Turbo, state nothing. For the established brands, review volume and reputation stand in for a published tolerance; for an unfamiliar brand, a stated figure is a claim rather than a measurement.
What size bath do I need?
Match it to the largest container you will actually use. Around 8 litres is a large saucepan and suits one or two portions. Fifteen to 20 litres is a stockpot and covers most households, including a couple of steaks or a chicken. Forty litres and up means a cooler or a hotel pan and is really for batch cooking or service. Buying a 50-litre machine and using it in an 8-litre pot gains you nothing at all.
Do I need WiFi on a sous vide cooker?
It is more useful here than on most appliances, because cooks run for eight, twelve or twenty-four hours and being able to confirm from another room that the bath is still at temperature has real value on an overnight run. What you should be more careful about is the reverse: machines that are app-only, with no controls on the device. Three in this roundup work that way, including the second most expensive, and that makes the machine dependent on a phone and a software roadmap you do not control.
Can you sous vide without a vacuum sealer?
Yes. The water displacement method works well — put the food in a zip-top bag, lower it into the water so the pressure pushes the air out, and seal the last corner above the surface. Reusable silicone bags work the same way. A vacuum sealer gives a more reliable seal for long cooks and for anything you want to freeze afterwards, but it is not required to start, and several of the kits in this roundup include bags and a hand pump.
Do you still need to sear after sous vide?
Almost always, for anything you want browned. A circulator holds water below boiling, and the Maillard reaction that produces crust and roasted flavour needs far higher surface temperatures than any bath reaches. Dry the food thoroughly, then sear it hard in a very hot pan for under a minute a side, or use a torch. The bath does the doneness; the pan does the crust.
How long can food stay in a sous vide bath?
Longer than most cooking methods allow, which is the flexibility the technique buys, but not indefinitely. Because the food is held at your set temperature rather than climbing past it, a steak can sit an hour or more beyond its target without overcooking, though texture eventually softens. Breville’s Prime Time feature exists to report that window explicitly. Standard food safety guidance on time at temperature still applies, particularly below 130°F.
Is a cheap sous vide cooker worth buying?
On this evidence, yes, as a starting point. The $29.00 and $43.99 machines here state 16 and 20-litre baths, and the $43.99 one states 1100 watts, IPX7 waterproofing and a ±0.1°C tolerance that the $239.66 machine does not publish. What the money buys further up is interface and build — onboard controls, a brushless motor, a stainless wet path, app ecosystems, ruggedised bodies for continuous duty. Those are real, but they are not the wattage figure the listings lead with.
Final Verdict
The category standard, with onboard touch control as well as an app, and a 16-litre bath that will not limit you.
The cheapest 1100-watt machine here at $43.99, with a 20-litre bath, IPX7 and a published ±0.1°C tolerance.
Pick a doneness from a photograph and let Turbo mode and Prime Time work out the numbers and the window.
Wattage is the number on every sous vide box and it answers a question almost nobody is asking. It sets how long a cold bath takes to come up to temperature. After that the circulator is only topping up heat lost to the room, which costs a fraction of the rated figure — which is why five machines here share 1100 watts across a $43.99 to $239.66 spread, and why one manufacturer’s 850-watt model claims twice the water capacity of its own 1000-watt model.
What the money actually buys is the interface and the build. Controls on the device instead of only in an app. A brushless motor quiet enough to run overnight. A stainless impeller instead of a plastic one. A body ruggedised for daily service. Those are worth paying for, and none of them appears in the headline figure.
So size the bath to your biggest pot, insist on a panel you can use without a phone, and if a brand tells you how precisely it holds temperature, weigh that heavily — because only two of these ten do. Then buy on how the machine handles, not on how many watts it draws in the first twenty minutes.









